Cricket in USA, 1st T20I: West Indies eye comeback after demolition in Tests; MS Dhoni & Co seek revenge

1st T20I - After winning the Test series 2-0 under Virat Kohli's captaincy, Men in Blue would be looking to put another good show against West Indies as MS Dhoni returns to lead in limited-overs cricket.

Cricket in USA, 1st T20I: West Indies eye comeback after demolition in Tests; MS Dhoni & Co seek revenge

New Delhi: Under the captaincy of Jason Holder, West Indies failed to put a good show in front of their home crowd in the five-match Test series. The visitors were a cut above in all departments of the game as Virat Kohli sealed his third consecutive series win as the skipper of the Indian Test team.

However, as the first T20I kicks off between the two teams on August 27, West Indies have a great chance of making a comeback since they are a much more settled unit in the shortest format of the game.

Despite the West Indies Cricket Board's decision to sack Darren Sammy as the captain of the T20 side, the team boasts of some big names in Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Andre Russell and skipper Carlos Brathwaite – who are all T20 specialists.

West Indies squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine

India, on the other hand, would be seeking revenge for their semi-final loss against the Windies in ICC World Twenty20 earlier this year.

Men in Blue were looking all set to clinch their second World Twenty20 title, before the Darren Sammy-led side not only knocked them out, but also went on to win another title.

Barring that one loss, India have been exceptionally brilliant in T20Is this year. They defeated Australia 3-0 on their home soil in the beginning of this year and followed it with another Asia Cup title.

It would be interesting to see whether Dhoni and his men can avenge the loss of their defeat in ICC World Twenty20.

India squad: MS Dhoni (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Stuart Binny, Umesh Yadav, Virat Kohli