AIFF to have new vice-presidents, executive comm members

New Delhi: The All India Football Federation (AIFF) will be effecting a major reshuffle in its upcoming Annual General Meeting (AGM), which will see induction of three new vice-presidents as well as members from the five zones.

While Dempo Sports Club`s owner Srinivas Dempo will be elected vice-president from the west zone, Congress MP Subhash Chopra will be the representative from the north zone, with Shillong Lajong club owner Larsing Ming Sawyn replacing Ankur Dutta from the north-east.

Kerala`s K M I Mather, who is a member in the present committe, will be elevated to the post of vice-president from south.

East Zone`s Subrata Dutta will continue to be the senior vice-president with Union Minister Praful Patel heading the committee. The nominations have been scrutinised and passed by Returning Officer Justice S K Aggarwal.

Welcoming Larsing Ming Sawyn`s elevation from being a member to the post of vice-presidency, an official said, "He will surely continue to do a good job. He is young and very dynamic and these are qualities that are required to take the federation ahead."
Besides Dutta, who is also the president of Assam Football Association, South`s A R Khaleel and Venod Sharma will be the other outgoing vice-presidents.

Going by the Sports Code of the government, present vice-president Khaleel has already served two terms in that post and is also above 70 years of age.

Hardev Jadeja will retain the post of treasurer.

New Executive Committee

President: Praful Patel; Sr. Vice-president: Subrata Dutta (East); Vice-presidents: Srinivas Dempo (West), Subhash Chopra (North), Larsing Ming Sawyn (Northeast); Treasurer: Hardev Jadeja (West); Members: Ankur Dutta and Ranjt Roy (Northeast), Menla Ethenpa and Gulam Rabban (East), Sunil Bhardwaj and Mohammad Samsuddin (North), A R Dev and Franco Miranda (West) A R Khaleel and Seeni Mohiuddin (South).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link