Four teams in I-League relegation zone to know fate on May 28

Updated: May 18, 2010, 23:13 PM IST

New Delhi: Dempo had won the I-League with a
round to spare but the battle for avoiding relegation has gone
down the wire with four final round matches on May 28 set to
decide which two teams will not play next season in the top

Sporting Clube de Goa, Shillong Lajong, Mumbai FC and Air
India take the field on May 28 on the last day of this
I-League season in the round 26 fixtures announced by the AIFF

Sporting Clube de Goa, who are at the bottom with 24
points, take on Chirag United in Kolkata. Shillong Lajong and
Mumbai FC, both on 26 points, play Salgaocar and Mohun Bagan
in Goa and in Mumbai respectively while Air India face
Churchill Brothers in Goa.

On May 27, Dempo play Pune FC in Goa, East Bengal take on
Viva Kerala in Kolkata and Mahindra United, who will no longer
take part in next season, face JCT in Mumbai.

All the matches in both the days will be played
simultaneously from 4pm.

The AIFF also issued the regulations pertaining to the
ranking system and which side would be relegated when two or
more teams ended on same points.

If two or more teams finished on same points, then the
result of the matches between the concerned teams will be
taken into account and the side which secure the maximum
points in these matches will be placed higher.

If the points are the same still, then the team having a
higher goal difference will be placed higher. If the goal
deference is the same, the team with the higher number of
goals scored will be placed higher.

Even after this, if there is deadlock, the team to be
relegated will be decided by having a play off between the
concerned teams at a neutral venue. The team that loses the
playoff match will be relegated.