Lok Sabha Speaker to felicitate London Olympics medal winners

New Delhi: Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar will felicitate tomorrow the London Olympics medal winners and all the sportspersons who participated in the mega event.

Members of Parliament (both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) and Officers and Staff of the secretariats of the two Houses will attend the function.

Sports Minister Ajay Maken will propose a vote of thanks, Lok Sabha Secretariat said in a release.
The Indian Olympic Association had sent to London 81 athletes to compete in 13 sports making it the largest contingent that India has ever sent to Olympic Games.

India won 6 medals--2 silver and 4 bronze--which is by far the best performance by the country in terms of number of medals won at any single Olympic Games.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link