This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Australia name 12-member lawn ball squad for Delhi CWG

New Delhi: Australia today named a 12-member
lawn ball squad, including six women, to participate in the
Commonwealth Games to be held here from October 3-14.

The squad will participate in the singles, pairs and
triples competitions.

At 19, Natasha van Eldik could become the youngest lawn
ball player to represent Australia in the Commonwealth Games
after she was included in the pairs team.

Natasha lines up alongside reigning gold medallist Lynsey
Armitage. The pair had won a silver medal at the eight-nation
tournament, a test event for the Commonwealth Games, at the
Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium lawn bowls facility here in April.

The 20-year-old Kelsey Cottrell, a reserve four years
ago, will make her debut in the women`s singles, while Sharyn
Renshaw, Claire Duke and Julie Keegan will combine for the
triples event, a release from the CWG Organising Committee

In the men`s disciplines, world number two Leif Selby has
secured the coveted singles place while Mark Berghofer and
Aron Sherriff will play in the pairs.

Brett Wilkie will partner defending Commonwealth Games
champions Wayne Turley and Mark Casey in the triples.

Australia topped the medal count in lawn ball in
Melbourne four years ago with three gold, one silver and one

The Team:

Men: Singles: Leif Selby; Pairs: Mark Berghofer and Aron
Sherriff; Triples: Brett Wilkie, Wayne Turley and Mark Casey.

Women: Singles: Kelsey Cottrell: Pairs: Lynsey Armitage
and Natasha Van Eldik; Triples: Sharyn Renshaw, Claire Duke
and Julie Keegan.


From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions