Bolt named Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

Updated: Mar 10, 2010, 22:29 PM IST

Abu Dhabi: Olympic gold medallist sprinter
Usain Bolt was tonight named as the Laureus World Sportsman of
the Year for the second consecutive time in a glittering
function at the Emirates Palace here.

Sizzling tennis star Serena Williams, who bagged two
Grand Slam titles -- Australian Open and Wimbledon -- last
year won the Sportswoman of the Year Award and now stands only
second to Roger Federer, who has so far won Laureus Award four

Williams had won the Laureus Comeback Award in 2007,
while Federer won the Laureus Sportsman of the Year award from

Reigning Formula One champion Jenson Button won the
Breakthrough of the Year Award, while his last year`s team
Brawn GP was named Laureus World Team of the Year.

Belgium`s tennis sensation Kim Clijsters, who shocked the
world by winning the US Open after returning from retirement,
won the Laureus Comeback of the Year Award.

South African swimmer Natalie Du Toit, who won five gold
medals in the 2008 Summer Paralympics, won the Laureus
Disability Award, while Australia`s three-time World surfing
champion Stephanie Gilmore was named Laureus World Action
Sportsperson of the Year.

Academy member Nawal El Moutawakel received the Laureus
Lifetime Achievement Award for her work for women in sport and
the International Olympic committee.

The Sport for Good Award went to American basketball
legend Dikembe Mutombo for his charitable work in his native