Indians win 11 gold medals in World Police Games

Belfast: Indians produced an excellent performance at the XVth World Police and Fire Games 2013 here, pocketing 11 gold, six silver and four bronze medals so far.

The 39-member Indian team is taking part in a number of disciplines -- athletics, archery, boxing, judo, swimming and wrestling -- in the August 1 to 10 event.

The first medal was pocketed by S I Nandar Anand Divase of BSF yesterday after he finished on top in the men`s 400m freestyle swimming by clocking 4:12:21 minutes.

Divase followed it up by another gold by also winning the men`s 200m individual medley in 2:19:12 minutes.

Indian team comprising Divase, Rohit Kumar of CRPF, Rajvir Singh of Punjab Police and Tulse Chetanya of Andhra Pradesh Police then went on to win the 4x50m freestyle relay in 1:44:26 minutes.

Rajvir Singh bagged a silver in men`s 50m butterfly.

In athletics, India ended up with two medals on the first day. Long distance runner Anuradha Singh won a gold in 5,000m for women, while Tajinder of Punjab Police stood second in Hammer Throw event for men.

The second day saw the Indians adding as many as eight gold, four silver and three bronze to their kitty.

While Ravinder Rautela of Uttarakhand Police pocketed the gold in 1500m for men, S Sini of Kerala Police emerged victorious in 200m for women.

Mukesh Rawat of Uttarakhand Police (5000m for men), Chinchu Jose of Kerala Police (1500m for men) and Anuradhapura S The World Police and Fire Games are the third largest international multi-sport event in the world and are being held in the European continent for the first time.

The games are organised by the World Police and Fire Games Federation since 1989. It is open to all working and retired police and fire department personnel from all over the world.

More than 7,400 athletes and sportspersons from 56 countries are participating in the Games.


Athletics: Ravinder Rautela (Uttarakhand Police): Gold in men`s 1500m race; S Sini (Kerala Police): Gold in women`s 200m; Mukesh Rawat (Uttarakhand Police): Silver in men`s 5000m; Chinchu Jose (Kerala Police): Silver Medal in men`s 1500m; Anuradhapura Singh: Silver in women`s 5000m race walk; Rahul G Pillai (Kerala Police): Bronze in men`s 100m sprint; Neha Singh (CISF): Bronze in women`s hammer throw; Tajinder (Punjab Police): Silver in men`s hammer throw.

Swimming: Mandar A Divase (BSF): Gold in men`s 1500m freestyle, men`s 400m freestyle and men`s 200m; M Tulasi Chaitanya (AP Police): Gold in men`s 100m freestyle and Silver in men`s 100m backstroke; Rajbir Singh (Punjab Police): Silver in men`s 50m butterfly and Bronze in men`s 100m backstroke; Mandar A Divase, M Tulasi Chaitanya, Rajbir Singh and Rohit Kumar won Gold in 4x50m men`s Medley Relay; Mandar Anand Divase, Rohit Kumar, Rajvir Singh and Tulse Chetanya won Gold in men`s 4x50m freestyle relay

Judo: TH Kalpana Devi (ITBP): Gold in U-52 kg category; L Nirupama (CRPF): Gold in 63kg category; CH Jina Devi (SSB): Gold in 78kg category; Avatar Singh (Punjab Police): Bronze in 90kg category.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link