Karnataka enters QFs of 3rd Hockey India Sr Women Natl

Lucknow: Chaitra KC strcuk twice to help Karnataka enter the quarterfinals of the third Hockey India Senior Women National Hockey Championship, with a 2-1 win over Odisha here on Monday.

For Karnataka, Chaitra (12th min, 22nd) found the target twice while Raina Yadav (26th) scored the lone goal for Odisha in a pool G match at the Major Dhyan Chand Stadium in the Guru Gobind Singh College here.

In the other match of the day, Mumbai Hockey Association Limited (MHA Ltd) troounced Rajasthan 12-1 in pool B.

Pratibha Sawant (21th, 30th, 39th, 62nd), Sarita Hanuman (10th, 26th, 49th), Jahanara Bano (28th, 48th), Afshan Basha (24th), Krishna Patel (61st) were the goalscorers for MHA Ltd, while Jaya Chouhan (46th) scored the only goal for Rajasthan.

In another pool B encounter, Haryana got a walkover from Bengal Hockey Association.

In pool F, Hockey Bhopal hammered Gujarat 19-0.

Railways, meanwhile have already qualified for quarterfinals.

Meanwhile, Spurthi H P scored four goals as Karnataka trounced hosts Tamil Nadu 9-0 to win the third Hockey

India Sub-Junior Women National Championship (South Zone) at Mayor Radhakrishnan Hockey Stadium in Egmore, Chennai on Monday.

Karnataka, who led 4-0 at the half time, scored through Leelavathi (3rd min), Spurthi (8th, 33rd, 46th, 60th), Ramya A N (29th, 60th), Keerthana (49th) and an own goal (66th).