WSH ropes in Tina Brullo as competition operations manager

Mumbai: Renowned event manager Tina Brullo of Australia was on Thursday named as the competition operations manager of the upcoming World Series Hockey.

Tina has over 15 years of extensive experience in managing international sports events and was involved with several global events, including the last year`s FIH Hockey World Cup in India, where she also worked as the competition operations manager.

As competitions operations manager of last year`s World Cup, she responsible for organisation of all aspects relating to competition to FIH standards, including all areas of field of play and warm up pitch, team training schedules and transport, procurement of sports specific and technical bench equipment, recruitment and training of sports specific volunteers, assisting technical officials/umpires, assisting with the accreditation process and zoning.

The other highlights of Tina`s career include the 2011 Abu Dhabi F1 Grand Prix, 2011 AFC Asian Cup, 2009 Samsung Women`s Champions Trophy, 2009 ABN Amro Men`s Champions Trophy, 2006 Doha Asian Games, 2006 Melbourne Commonwealth Games, 2004 Athens Olympics among several others.

She also had significant stints with sport associations, having worked with the International Hockey Federation (FIH), Cricket Australia and Hockey Australia.

"I`m excited to be part of World Series Hockey, which is by far the biggest initiative that hockey has ever seen. It`s the first time that eight different venues will be used in a single tournament in just over a month and managing competition operations for a hockey event of this scale is a big opportunity," Tina said on her appointment.

Dennis Meredith, technical director of WSH, said, "Having spent several years in various capacities in the sport, from being a player to managing venues to handling competition operations, Tina brings in a holistic understanding to her role with WSH.

"Her track record over the decade and a half that she has been involved with the sport is impeccable and I`m sure she will take charge and deliver a world class hockey event from the competition operations aspect"

The multi-city franchise-based WSH will be held across several cities of the country from December 17 to January 22 next year and will involve 200 leading players -- Indian and international -- who will showcase their talent in 61 matches.

The inaugural edition of the league will comprise eight teams out of Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Chandigarh, Pune, Bhopal, Punjab, Ranchi and Rourkela.

Some of the Indian stars who will be seen in action in WSH include Viren Rasquinha, Dhanraj Pillay, Rajpal Singh, Sandeep Singh, Adrian D`Souza, Sardara Singh, Prabhjot Singh, Arjun Halappa, Diwakar Ram, Bharat Chetri, Dhananjay Mahadik, Shivendra Singh, Mandeep Antil, S V Sunil, Roshan Minz, William Xalxo, Prabodh Tirkey and Yuvraj Walmiki.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link