Goa: CM Candidates : Manohar Parrikar
Assembly Elections
Goa CM Candidates
Manohar Parrikar
BJP is banking on its most visible face in Goa, Manohar Parrikar, to once again propel it to victory in the state.

Manohar Parrikar was born on December 13, 1955 in Mapusa. He graduated from IIT Bombay in 1978 and was awarded by his alma mater with the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2001, a year after he assumed office as the chief minister of Goa.

His political journey started in 1994 when he got elected to state Assembly. He moved up the ranks fast and was elected as leader of the opposition in 1999.

In the following year, the BJP formed its first government in Goa under his leadership but his tenure lasted only till February, 2002. Riding on a wave of popularity, Parrikar rode back to power within four months and continued as CM till 2005 when his government was reduced to minority after four BJP MLAs withdrew support.

The state was put under President`s Rule after his exit in March 2005, but in June 2005, opposition leader Pratapsing Rane won majority and took over as chief minister.

Parrikar’s tenure, though short, was marked by a number of achievements. Besides introducing the Lokayukta Bill in 2003, he had launched social uplift schemes like Cyberage Scheme and Dayanand Samajik Suraksha Yojna.

He is also credited for having, singlehandedly, brought the IFFI (International Film Festival of India) to Goa.

Goa under Parrikar had witnessed creation of quality infrastructure, no wonder Goa was named as the best governed state in India for three consecutive years in surveys by Planning Commission of India and others.

However, it is not going to be a cakewalk for Parrikar. Although he is being dubbed as the future CM, before that happens he would have to tackle a challenger in North Goa MP Shripad Naik, besides hoping that his ‘rancid pickle’ comment on party patriarch LK Advani continues to remain forgotten by his party bosses.
Views 7068 
Previous  Next 
View Slideshow.. »  
Tourist Destinations History
View Slideshow .. »  
  Panaji Porvorim
  Margao Benaulim
  Ponda Cortalim
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors  
  Chief Ministers with Most Tenures  
  View Slideshow ..»    
More .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 06.02.2012 (Monday)
Last Date for Nominations 13.02.2012 (Monday)
Date for Scrutiny 14.02.2012 (Tuesday)
Date of Poll 03.03.2012 (Saturday)
More .. »