Manipur: CM Candidates : Okram Ibobi Singh
Assembly Elections
Manipur CM Candidates
Okram Ibobi Singh
Present Chief Minister of Manipur Okram Ibobi Singh was born on July 19, 1948. An illustrious career of the leader that had started in 1984-85 has finally culminated with the top notch post of the state. The unstable political situation of Manipur was finally stalled by the two times Congress CM.

In 2002 and 2007, Ibobi single handedly catapulted Congress to power. After Mohammad Alimuddin, he is only the second person from Thoubai district to be sworn in as the CM of Manipur. Although he had numbers to form the government on his own in 2007, he decided to continue with his coalition partners.

Though Ibobi claims to sweep 2012 also, but there are lots of issues troubling him and his party this time. On the one hand, his rivals are in mood to dethrone him and on the other seven militant organizations have put a blanket ban on support to Congress. But this time around his coalition partnership seems to have fallen apart, with CPI already announcing its intention of going alone in the polls.

His hat-trick is also marred by violent conflicts, fake encounters and more recently a 121 day economic blockade in the state. But his closeness to 10 Janpath and a decade long hard work might just work for him.
Views 3012 
Previous  Next 
View Slideshow.. »  
Profile Geography
View Slideshow .. »  
  Ukhrul Chandel
  Thoubal Nungba
  Tamenglong Tengnoupal
More .. »  
  Number of Seats and Electors  
  Chronology of Chief Ministers  
  View Slideshow ..»    
More .. »  
Date of issue of Notification 04.01.2012 (Wednesday)
Last Date for Nominations 11.01.2012 (Wednesday)
Date for Scrutiny 12.01.2012 (Thursday)
Date of Poll 28.01.2012 (Saturday)
More .. »