Gujarat assembly elections 2012

Gujarat portfolios: Nitin Patel gets Finance; Anandi retains revenue

Chief Minister Narendra Modi allocated portfolios to his 16-member team which was sworn on December 26, after the BJP retained power in Gujarat with a thumping victory in the recent assembly polls.

Dec 29, 2012, 16:49 PM IST

Gujarat Election Results 2012: 16 women MLAs make it to assembly

Sixteen women candidates emerged victorious in the Gujarat assembly elections, same as last time, 12 of whom belonged to BJP and four from Congress.

Dec 21, 2012, 23:18 PM IST

Gujarat people voted for development: Munda

Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda congratulated his Gujarat counterpart Narendra Modi for accomplishing a hat-trick in the Assembly elections, and said people of the state voted for development.

Dec 21, 2012, 00:32 AM IST

Bihar BJP hails Gujarat win; JD(U) says it will make NDA strong

BJP leaders in Bihar celebrated party victory in Gujarat under leadership of Narendra Modi.

Dec 20, 2012, 23:16 PM IST

Narendra Modi’s role will be discussed in due course: Arun Jaitley

Arun Jaitley said on Thursday that what role Narendra Modi will take in future at the national level will be discussed in due course of time.

Dec 20, 2012, 21:23 PM IST

Modi not acceptable to country as PM candidate: Medha Patkar

Social activist Medha Patkar said Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi was not acceptable to country as a Prime Ministerial candidate as debate raged on the BJP leader`s possible national ambitions.

Dec 20, 2012, 19:57 PM IST

I will go to Delhi if you want: Narendra Modi

Buoyed by the tremendous success of his party in Gujarat’s fiercely contested assembly elections, incumbent Chief Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday said that it was the victory of 6 crore people of his state.

Dec 20, 2012, 18:15 PM IST

Five ministers in Modi government cede ground to Cong, GPP

Even as Narendra Modi is well on the road to make a hat-trick in Gujarat, five incumbent BJP ministers lost the electoral battle.

Dec 20, 2012, 17:11 PM IST

Gujarat Cong Arjun Modhwadia loses Porbandar seat

Gujarat Congress president Arjun Modhwadia, seeking third consecutive term from Porbandar constituency, was defeated by his BJP rival Babu Bokhiria by a margin of 17,146 votes.

Dec 20, 2012, 13:43 PM IST

Modi govt holds last cabinet meeting ahead of D-day

Last Cabinet meeting of the incumbent Narendra Modi government was held at Gandhinagar on Wednesday.

Dec 19, 2012, 22:56 PM IST

Gujarat polls outcome will not affect 2014 General Elections: Omar

Omar Abdullah said the outcome of Gujarat Assembly elections should not be seen as a reflection on the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Dec 19, 2012, 22:48 PM IST

Gujarat Election Results 2012: What it means for the BJP?

The victory in Gujarat will surely come as a much needed boost for the BJP.

Dec 19, 2012, 19:31 PM IST

Gujarat Assembly elections 2012: Did Keshubhai help Modi?

The fate of incumbent Chief Minister Narendra Modi has been sealed in ballot boxes.

Dec 18, 2012, 14:18 PM IST

Gujarat polls: 4 hurt in firing by BJP legislator`s bodyguard, MLA detained

The bodyguard of a BJP candidate and sitting MLA opened fire after some stones were pelted at the leader by some people in Tarsang village, resulting in the injury to four of them.

Dec 17, 2012, 18:31 PM IST

Gujarat polls: 4 injured in firing by BJP legislator`s bodyguard

Four persons were injured when the bodyguard of BJP MLA and candidate from Sahera in Panchmahal district, Jetha Bharwad, opened fire in Tarsang village.

Dec 17, 2012, 15:50 PM IST

Congress cries foul over Narendra Modi’s victory sign

Congress party has complained to the Election Commission over the flashing of victory sign by Narendra Modi just after casting his vote on Monday.

Dec 17, 2012, 12:37 PM IST

Gujarat polls: Shweta Bhatt says she is fighting for truth

Shweta Bhatt, who is pitted against Chief Minister Narendra Modi in the Gujarat Assembly Elections, cast her ballot in Maninagar constituency.

Dec 17, 2012, 09:04 AM IST

Gujarat Elections 2012: 70% polling in 2nd phase; Modi confident of hat-trick

Counting of votes will be taken up on Thursday with the massive turnout being a subject of intense speculation on which party would benefit.

Dec 17, 2012, 07:58 AM IST

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2012: BJP appeals voters to turn out in large number on Monday

On the eve of second phase of polling, BJP leadership on Sunday appealed the voters to turn out in large numbers to exercise franchise for 95 Assembly seats in Gujarat tomorrow.

Dec 16, 2012, 22:31 PM IST

Gujarat Assembly Elections 2012: Code violation complaint against Amit Shah

A complaint was filed on Sunday against BJP leader and former Gujarat minister Amit Shah for allegedly violating the model code of conduct by taking out a procession after the poll campaign deadline had ended.

Dec 16, 2012, 22:20 PM IST

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link