assembly elections 2019

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: PM Modi urges voters to vote in record numbers in fifth phase

"The fifth and the last phase of voting in the Jharkhand assembly elections is today. I request all voters to vote in record numbers and join this festival of democracy," Modi tweeted.

Dec 20, 2019, 08:13 AM IST

Jharkhand assembly election 2019: Voting for 5th phase today, 237 candidates in fray for 16 seats

The Santhal Pargana region in the 2014 Assembly election had given the BJP as well as the JMM six seats each, while the Congress could win three and the JVM won merely one seat.

Dec 20, 2019, 07:06 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election Phase V: 24% candidates face criminal cases; 22% are crorepartis

The campaigning for the fifth and final phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections, covering 16 seats in six districts of Sahebganj, Pakur, Dumka, Jamtara, Deoghar and Godda, ended on Wednesday. The vote will take place on December 20, while the counting will be held on December 23.

Dec 19, 2019, 14:13 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: Yogi Adityanath to address poll rallies in Jamtara, Sahebganj

Even as polling for the fourth phase of Jharkhand's Assembly election is underway for the 15 seats in the four districts, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will address a rally in the state for the fifth phase. Yogi Adityanath will address rallies in Jamtara and Sahebganj districts of the state. 

Dec 16, 2019, 08:22 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: 34% candidates in Phase IV have criminal cases against them, 27% are crorepatis

Out of the 221 candidates fighting for the fourth phase of Jharkhand assembly election 2019, 60 (27%) are crorepatis.

Dec 12, 2019, 21:35 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: 3rd phase of polling witnesses voter turnout of 61.93%

Jharkhand witnessed 61.93 per cent voting in the third phase of Assembly elections, covering  17 seats in the 7 districts of Ranchi, Hazaribagh, Chatra, Giridih, Bokaro, Koderma and Saraikela, on Thursday (December 12). This phase will decide the fate of 309 candidates, including 32 females. 

Dec 12, 2019, 20:28 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: PM Modi cautions people, says 'Karnataka should not crop up in Jharkhand'

PM Modi said the Congress has never believed in coalition politics, and have "treated allies like puppets in lieu of support." 

Dec 09, 2019, 19:59 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: Campaigning ends for the second phase covering 20 seats

 Of the 20 seats, polling will take place from 7 am to 3 pm on 18 seats, and from 7 am to 5 pm on two seats of East Jamshedpur and West Jamshedpur.

Dec 05, 2019, 18:04 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: Second phase to decide fate of many heavyweights

The second phase of Jharkhand Assembly vote in 20 seats on December 7 will decide the fate of many political heavyweights, but the centre for attraction is Chief Minister Raghubar Das, who is contesting from Jamshedpur East seat. He is challenged by his former cabinet colleague Saryu Rai and Congress spokesperson Gaurabh Vallabh.

Dec 04, 2019, 22:55 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: PM Modi attacks Congress-JMM alliance, calls it corrupt

PM Modi said, "Within a span of 15 years, Jharkhand has seen Chief Ministers change ten times. I was the chief minister of Gujarat for 13 years. This stability helped Gujarat to reach great heights." 

Dec 03, 2019, 23:46 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election: Regional parties play a key role in government formation

Though the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is striving to put up a good show to regain power in the state, claims that the importance of regional parties and leaders has declined of late, local political pundits beg to differ.

Dec 03, 2019, 23:01 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: PM Modi to address 2 rallies on Dec 3

Incumbent Chief Minister Raghubar Das is seeking a second five-year term. Das has become the first chief minister of the state to complete a full 5-year term in office. 

Dec 02, 2019, 23:34 PM IST

Jharkhand assembly election 2019: Polling in 13 constituencies in six districts on Saturday

Seats for which polling will take place are - Chatra, Gumla, Bishunpur, Lohardaga, Manika, Latehar, Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur, Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur.

Nov 29, 2019, 23:01 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: Canvassing for first phase ends; EC bans Exit Poll

Of the 13 assembly seats of the first phase, the BJP and the Gathbandhan candidates are reportedly in a direct fight in Garhwa, Daltonganj, Vishrampur, Panki, Manika, Gumla and Bishunpur constituencies, while the party rebels are posing a challenge in Bhavanathpur, Latehar, and Chatra seats. 

Nov 28, 2019, 18:02 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election: Congress releases final list; BJP announces 5th list

For the five-phase Jharkhand Assembly elections, slated to vote on November 30, the Congress party on Friday (November 22) announced its final list of candidates. The list included three names of Yogendra Baitha from Simaria, Basudev Verma from Bagodar and Sweta Singh from Bokaro seat.

Nov 23, 2019, 00:17 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election: Babulal Marandi slams Raghubar Das government for cheating people

The Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) National President and former Chief Minister Babulal Marandi slammed the Raghubar Das government and said it has cheated the people of Jharkhand for the last five years, while addressing a rally at Balumath High School in Latehar on Thursday (November 21). 

Nov 21, 2019, 23:46 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election: BJP faces tough challenge to repeat its 2014 performance

As voting date for 13 assembly seats for the first phase of Jharkhand elections is inching closer, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is facing stiff challenge to save its old seats. Rebel leaders as well as candidates from its former ally All Jharkhand Student Union (AJSU) have increased difficulties of the ruling party.

Nov 21, 2019, 19:58 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election: 5-phase polls scheduled on MHA report, clarifies CEC Arora

The Election Commission has made arrangements for postal ballots in six districts for differently-abled and voters aged over 80. The EC has also appointed special observers for poll expenditures.

Nov 21, 2019, 18:26 PM IST

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar says will not campaign for Saryu Rai in Jharkhand Assembly election

Putting all speculations to rest that Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar may campaign for BJP's rebel candidate Saryu Rai, who has decided to challenge Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das from East Singhboom in the upcoming assembly election, the JD-U chief said that he is not needed there, while responding to reporters in Patna on Wednesday (November 20).

Nov 20, 2019, 17:58 PM IST

Jharkhand assembly election: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar may campaign for BJP rebel Saryu Rai

After witnessing the no-so-convincing Assembly elections results in Haryana and Maharashtra, the upcoming polls in Jharkhand is yet another test for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BJP is facing an embarrassing situation with the resignation of Saryu Rai, who was the food and supply minister in the Raghubar Das Cabinet till Sunday, and now reports are coming in that Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar may campaign in his support. 

Nov 20, 2019, 13:48 PM IST