News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Caribbean Premier League

Our batsmen could not pick Kuldeep Yadav: Denesh Ramdin

Explosive batsmen such as Chris Gayle and very effective spinner Sunil Narine were missing from the West Indies line-up with Dwayne Bravo also retiring last month from international cricket.

Nov 10, 2018, 18:05 PM IST

CPL 2018: Guyana Amazon Warriors beat Trinbago Knight Riders by 2 wickets, book place in final

The Guyana Amazon Warriors on Tuesday booked a berth in the 2018 Caribbean Premier League final after a nervy two-wicket win over Trinbago Knight Riders at the Providence Stadium, Guyana. 

Sep 12, 2018, 13:28 PM IST

4 overs, 3 maidens, 2 wickets, 1 run: Irfan bowls most economical spell in T20 history

Mohammad Irfan now has the most-economical four-over spell in T20 cricket - going past Chris Morris' two for two for Cape Cobras in 2014.

Aug 27, 2018, 07:33 AM IST

Darren Bravo stuns St. Lucia Stars with breathtaking 94 off 36 balls in CPL 2018

West Indies Cricketer Darren Bravo on Friday wrecked St. Lucia Stars bowlers at the Darren Sammy Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia. Darren Bravo hit a scintillating unbeaten 36-ball 94 to help Trinbago Knight Riders beat Stars by five wickets in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2018. 

Aug 17, 2018, 17:34 PM IST

Steve Smith debuts in CPL, Jason Holder says experience useful for team

Former Australian skipper Steven Smith on Sunday debuted in the Caribbean Premier League and captain Jason Holder was all praises for his Barbados Tridents teammate. 

Aug 13, 2018, 18:22 PM IST

Andre Russell returns as Caribbean Premier League rolls out team draft

Caribbean superstars Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, and Lendl Simmons were picked, alongside several international icons including Brendon McCullum, Sohail Tanvir, Shakib al Hasan, Martin Guptill, Hashim Amla and Shahid Afridi.

Mar 02, 2018, 14:30 PM IST

Boards need to monitor T20 leagues to curb corruption: Waqar

Former Pakistan head coach, Waqar Younis believes cricket boards need to increase their monitoring of franchise-based T20 leagues and educate the players to keep the sport clean of corruption.

Nov 17, 2017, 14:12 PM IST

Watch: Tabraiz Shamsi throws epic tantrum after umpire denies appeal during CPL 2017 final

Shamsi thought he had a clear LBW in St Kitts & Nevis Patriots' loss to Trinbago Knight Riders, but the umpire thought otherwise.

Sep 11, 2017, 13:43 PM IST

Trinbago Knight Riders win second Caribbean Premier League title

Ramdin, who ended on 26 off 31 balls, knocked off the winning run off the last ball of the 19th over to complete a three-wicket victory with an over to spare.

Sep 10, 2017, 12:11 PM IST

Watch: Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan bags hat-trick in CPL 2017

The Warriors, led by Luke Ronchi's 33-ball 70-run knock, chased down the target inside 18 overs to claim an impressive victory.

Sep 07, 2017, 13:42 PM IST

WATCH: Brendon McCullum, Darren Bravo make mockery of Chis Gayle's 47-ball 97

Riders won the shortened match by eight wickets, reaching the 88-run target in the sixth over.

Aug 24, 2017, 14:54 PM IST

WATCH: Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle lit up post-match presentation with dance moves

The Knight Riders orchestrated a stunning victory, thanks to Denesh Ramdin's unbeaten 35-ball 59 run knock.

Aug 16, 2017, 09:33 AM IST

WATCH: Shah Rukh Khan-owned TKR's Kesrick Williams performs strange celebration in CPL​

The result meant that Shah Rukh Khan-owned Riders suffer their first loss in CPL 2017.

Aug 10, 2017, 17:43 PM IST

WATCH: Ball hits stumps, reaches boundary but bails refuse to fall in CPL 2017

Knight Riders' skipper Dwayne Bravo couldn't believe his eyes while the television commentator Danny Morrison was in utter disbelief too.

Aug 09, 2017, 10:30 AM IST

2016 Caribbean Premier League: Jamaica Tallawahs beat Guyana Amazon Warriors by 9 wickets to win second title

After winning the toss, the Chris Gayle-led outfit chased down Amazon Warriors' paltry total of 93 runs in 12.5 overs, with the skipper scoring 54 off 27 balls.

Aug 08, 2016, 07:25 AM IST

WATCH: PURE CLASS! Umar Akmal hits three consecutive sixes in game-changing knock

The Zouks looked good for a win at the end of the 16th over.

Jul 27, 2016, 14:03 PM IST

Caribbean Premier League eyes US ahead of T20 games

The ICC is currently running affairs in the US directly.

Jul 27, 2016, 11:46 AM IST

VIDEO: NASTY! Ambulance called after shocking head clash between fielders in CPL

All the players immediately ran across to check if the duo was fine.

Jul 14, 2016, 12:01 PM IST

WATCH: BIZARRE! Lendl Simmons bats with only one pad in CPL, scores 60-ball 50

The right-hander played an unforgettable innings at the Wankhede Stadium to knock India out of the WT20 few months back.

Jul 12, 2016, 12:30 PM IST

VIDEO: OUCH! When Andre Russell's six hit a security guard in CPL

Six struck by Russell went on to hit a security guard.

Jul 03, 2016, 16:56 PM IST