Rajya Sabha bypoll

EC announces schedule for bypoll for two Rajya Sabha seats of Rajasthan, UP; legislative councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

The by-election to one Rajya Sabha seat each of Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan will be held on August 26.

Aug 01, 2019, 18:55 PM IST

BJP candidate and EAM S Jaishankar wins Rajya Sabha bypoll, defeats Congress' Gaurav Pandya

BJP candidate and EAM S Jaishankar got 104 votes in his favour as against Congress rival Gaurav Pandya who got 70 votes.

Jul 05, 2019, 20:30 PM IST

Gujarat: By-polls to 2 Rajya Sabha seats on Friday, External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar in the fray

The seats fell vacant following the election of Amit Shah and Smriti Irani to Lok Sabha in May this year. 

Jul 05, 2019, 07:22 AM IST

SC dismisses plea seeking simultaneous bypolls on Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat

The petition was filed by Gujarat Congress MLA Pareshbhai Dhanani in connection with bypolls on Rajya Sabha seats vacated by Amit Shah and Smriti Irani.

Jun 25, 2019, 12:20 PM IST

SC seeks EC's response on Gujarat Congress plea against its decision to hold separate bypolls for 2 Rajya Sabha seats

The Rajya Sabha seats fell vacant following the election of BJP chief Amit Shah and Union minister Smriti Irani to the Lok Sabha from Gandhinagar and Amethi, respectively.

Jun 19, 2019, 15:15 PM IST

Bypoll to six Rajya Sabha seats will be held on July 5, announces EC

The notifications will be issued on June 18 and elections and counting of votes will be held on July 5.

Jun 15, 2019, 22:54 PM IST

Manipur BJP president nominated for Rajya Sabha bypoll

Manipur BJP president Kshetrimayum Bhabananda Singh has been nominated as the party candidate for the Rajya Sabha bypoll in the state.


May 14, 2017, 20:13 PM IST

Stage set for RS bypoll in Jharkhand

The stage is set for Rajya Sabha bypoll in Jharkhand on Thursday with six MLAs, who were facing disqualification charges for joining BJP after winning the assembly polls on JVM(P) tickets, being allowed to cast their votes.

Jul 01, 2015, 17:25 PM IST

Jharkhand High Court rejects JVM(P) plea

Jharkhand High Court today rejected Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) plea to restrict voting rights of six MLAs during tomorrow's Rajya Sabha bypoll as they had joined BJP after winning on JVM symbol in the December Assembly elections.

Jul 01, 2015, 16:14 PM IST

AIADMK nominee elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Ruling AIADMK`s A Navaneethakrishnan was on Thursday declared elected in the bypoll to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

Jun 27, 2014, 01:12 AM IST

Election of AIADMK nominee for July 3 bypoll almost certain

The election of AIADMK nominee for the July 3, 2014 bypoll for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Tamil Nadu is more or less certain with no other prominent political party fielding candidates.

Jun 23, 2014, 21:36 PM IST

JD(U) to crack whip on 18 dissident MLAs

The ruling JD(U) in Bihar on Saturday appeared set to crack the whip on 18 dissident MLAs who voted against official candidates in the Rajya Sabha bypoll.

Jun 21, 2014, 21:41 PM IST

Rajya Sabha bypoll: Kanaklata files nomination

Kanaklata Singh, daughter of late Samajwadi Party leader Mohan Singh, on Monday filed her nomination as an SP candidate for a Rajya Sabha seat from Uttar Pradesh.

Dec 09, 2013, 21:57 PM IST

Rajni Patil wins RS bypoll from Maharashtra

Congress candidate Rajni Patil was on Saturday declared elected to the Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra unopposed.

Jan 05, 2013, 19:12 PM IST

SP nominee files nomination for RS bypoll in UP

SP candidate Alok Tiwari filed nomination for the by-election to one Rajya Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh.

Jun 14, 2012, 20:16 PM IST