Gujarat elections 2017, Know your constituency: Deodar

The constituency has 233 polling stations.

By Zee Media Bureau | Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017, 23:17 PM IST
Gujarat elections 2017, Know your constituency: Deodar

AHMEDABAD: Gujarat is all set to go to polls in two phases on December 9 and 14, setting the stage for a high-stakes battle between the state's ruling BJP and the Congress. 

Deodar is one of the 182 assembly constituencies of Gujarat. It is located in Banaskantha district. 

The constituency will have 233 polling stations. In 2012 assembly polls, the number of electors for this seat was 198558.

Chauhan Keshaji Shivaji of BJP won the seat in 2012 assembly elections with 76265 votes. 


The first phase will be held in 89 of the 182 seats and will cover 19 of 33 districts. 

The notification for the second phase will be issued on November 20 for the remaining 93 assembly seats in 14 districts.

The votes will be counted on December 18, the same day as Himachal Pradesh, where elections were held on November 9.

A total of 50.25 lakh electorate, including 19 lakh women and 14 transgenders, will decide the fate of candidates.

The poll process in the state started on November 14 with the issue of the gazette notification for the first phase.