This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Goa polls: MGP announces four candidates

Last Updated: Monday, February 6, 2012 - 22:07

Panaji: Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP)
Monday announced the first list of four candidates for the next
month`s Goa Assembly polls.

MGP`s working president Narayan Sawant told reporters
that the parliamentary committee of the party had cleared the
candidatures of Ramakrishna Dhavalikar (Madkai), Deepak
Dhavalikar (Priol), Prakash Arjun Velip (Quepem) and Lavu
Mamlatdar (Ponda).

The party has stitched an alliance with the main
opposition BJP. Accordingly, MGP will be contesting 8 seats.
Sawant said the candidates for Dabolim, Nuvem, Benaulim
and Thivim constituencies were yet to be decided. "The
decision on these seats would be taken in a couple of days,"
he said.

Goa is going to the polls on March 3.

MGP was a part of the present Congress-led ruling
coalition, but it pulled out of the government on Sunday.


First Published: Monday, February 6, 2012 - 22:07
comments powered by Disqus