Punjab Election Results 2017: As it happened

The opposition Congress was racing ahead in 76 seats in the 117-member Punjab Assembly, followed by the AAP in 22 seats, the SAD in 12 seats and the BJP in three seats, as the latest trends. Catch LIVE coverage here for all Assembly elections

By Biplob Ghosal | Last Updated: Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 22:19

Chandigarh:  The Congress was on Saturday headed for a two-third majority in the 117-seat Punjab assembly, with veteran Amarinder Singh set to return as Chief Minister of the border state.

Catch LIVE coverage here for all Assembly elections

UP Assembly Election Results LIVE coverage

11 March 2017, 20:06 PM

Below is the status for all 117 constituencies:

BJP - 3
Congress - 77
AAP - 20
SAD - 15
Lok Insaaf Party - 2

11 March 2017, 20:06 PM

Congress's Gurjit Singh Aujla wins bypolls to Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, defeats BJP'S Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina by 1,99,189 votes: PTI

11 March 2017, 20:06 PM

AAP takes second spot at 20 seats, SAD-BJP alliance gets just 18 seats, new outfit Lok Insaaf Party wins 2 in Punjab assembly polls: PTI

11 March 2017, 20:06 PM

Congress wins 77 seats in 117-member Punjab assembly, one short of two-thirds majority: PTI


11 March 2017, 20:06 PM

This is very humbling and overwhelming. Gratitude to the people of #India for the continued faith, support and affection for the BJP. Am overjoyed that BJP has received unprecedented support from all sections of society. Huge support from the youth is gladdening: PM Modi


11 March 2017, 20:06 PM

The outcome of five assembly polls is very encouraging. Despite defeat in Punjab, our alliance has got over 30 percent votes: Amit Shah


11 March 2017, 20:06 PM

Congress gets majority in 117-member Punjab Assembly, wins 59 seats, leading in 18 other seats

11 March 2017, 19:58 PM

PM Narendra Modi speaks to Congress leader Amarinder Singh to congratulate him on electoral victory in Punjab: PTI

11 March 2017, 16:31 PM

Result Status at 4:30 pm: Congress races ahead with 69 seats and leads in 9.
Final tally of AAP: 20
SAD: 14
BJP: 3
Lok Insaaf Party: 2


11 March 2017, 15:56 PM

EC data at 4 pm: Congress heads for a two-third majority - Congress wins 67 and lead in 11 seats. Final tally of SAD and BJP - 14 and 3 seats respectively.

11 March 2017, 15:44 PM

Harish Rawat tenders resignation from the post of CM.

11 March 2017, 15:30 PM

According to EC data at 3:30 pm: Congress continues its dream run. Secures 64 seats and leading in 14.
AAP bags 19 and leading in one. SAD and BJP which lost the elections managed to get 14 and three seats repectively.

11 March 2017, 14:56 PM

EC at 3 pm: Congress wins 50 seats and leading in 20. AAP bags 18 and leading in three. SAD manges to bag 12 and leads in two seats.

11 March 2017, 14:33 PM

EC at 2:30 pm: Congress wins 47 and leading in 29. AAP bags 16 and leading in five. SAD manges to bag six and leads in eight seats.

11 March 2017, 14:27 PM

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulates Captain Amarinder Singh for Congress' superb win.

"Spoke to @capt_amarinder & congratulated him on the win in Punjab. Also wished him a happy birthday & prayed for his long & healthy life," PM Modi tweets.a

11 March 2017, 14:05 PM

Punjab Result Status at 2 pm: Congress wins 31 leads in 46. AAP bags 12, leads in 9.
SAD and BJP wins 2 each and are leading in 12 and in 1 seat each.

11 March 2017, 13:31 PM

According to EC data at 1:30 pm: Congress wins 20 seats, leads in 59.

AAP bags 8, leads in 12. SAD opens account by grabbing one seat and leading in 12.

11 March 2017, 13:14 PM

Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal accepts defeat, to resign tomorrow.

11 March 2017, 12:52 PM

Congress Punjab head and its Chief Ministerial candidate Captain Amarinder Singh credits the party's stellar electoral performance to party president Sonia Gandhi and her son Rahul Gandhi.

11 March 2017, 12:50 PM

EC data says Congress has bagged 12 and leading in 64 seats.

AAP has won three and leading in 19. SAD and BJP are leading in 14 and three seats respectively.