Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM: As it happened

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar Chief Minister for the fourth time; Jitan Ram Manjhi, Mamata Banerjee, Tarun Gogoi present.

Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar CM: As it happened
  • Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad skipped the ceremony. 
  • Along with Nitish Kumar, 22 ministers took oath -- 20 of them had resigned from his predecessor Jitan Ram Manjhi's cabinet in protest earlier this month and two others, who were dismissed by Mr Manjhi.
  • JDU chief Sharad Yadav and senior Bihar BJP leader Sushil Modi, who has served as Nitish Kumar's deputy in the past, attended the swearing in ceremony.
  • Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi administers oath to Kumar at a function at Raj Bhawan.
  • Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar Chief Minister for the fourth time; Jitan Ram Manjhi, Mamata Banerjee, Tarun Gogoi present.
  • CM designate Nitish Kumar to take oath shortly.
  • Former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi reaches Raj Bhavan for Nitish Kumar’s swearing in ceremony as new CM.
  • Nitish Kumar reaches Raj Bhavan for his swearing in ceremony as Bihar CM.
  • JDU party Prez Sharad Yadav & CM designate Nitish Kumar leave for Raj Bhavan for the latter's oath ceremony.

Above are the live updates:

Earlier story 

Janata Dal (United) leader Nitish Kumar will take oath as chief minister of Bihar for fourth time on Sunday.

Assam CM Tarun Gogoi, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav, Haryana leaders Abhay Chautala, Dushyant Chautala and former Jharkhand chief minister Babu Lal Marandi will attend the oath ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

Kumar has also invited Samajwadi Party President Mulayam Singh Yadav, Lalu Prasad and JD(S) chief HD Devegowda among others over telephone for the oath function.

He will be administered the oath of office and secrecy at the Raj Bhawan in Patna by Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi.

JD(U) allies RJD, Congress and CPI however are yet to take a decision on joining the government.

RJD which has 24 members, Congress 5, CPI 1 and an independent stood solidly behind Kumar throughout the political crisis and its MLAs joined JD(U) legislators to take the total to 130. The members were present both at the Raj Bhavan and outside Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi to prove their numbers.

"Congress will take a decision (on joining the government) after Nitish Kumar proves his majority on the floor of the House," said Bihar PCC president Ashok Choudhary.

He said he has acquainted the party high command with the latest political situation in the state and would act according to instructions received from it after the trust vote.

Choudhary, however, said Congress support to Kumar was already there irrespective of the fact whether it joins his ministry or not.

CLP leader Sadanand Singh echoed similar views.

RJD state president Ram Chandra Purbe said party chief Lalu Prasad would take a decision on the matter.

"These are policy decisions for which Lalu Prasad is authorised to take a decision," Purbe told PTI and added that Prasad would be present at Kumar's swearing in ceremony tomorrow.

Lone CPI MLA Subodh Roy also said party would take the decision on whether to join ministry or continue support from outside.

Independent member Dulal Chand Goswami is all set to be part of the ministry.

Nitish Kumar's ascent to the CM's chair was made possible after the dramatic exit of Jitan Ram Manjhi, less than an hour before a confidence vote in the state assembly on Friday.

With numbers on his side Nitish Kumar later that day met the state's Governor and staked claim to form the next government.

Manjhi was picked by Nitish Kumar as his replacement when he quit last year after the JD(U)`s rout in the Lok Sabha polls.

In the 243-member assembly, the JD(U) has 115 legislators - most of whom are with Nitish Kumar. The party has the support of 24 Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) legislators, five Congress legislators, two independents and a Communist Party of India legislator.

The BJP has 88 legislators and is supported by three Independents.

(With Agency Inputs)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link