India granted observer status in Arctic Council

Last Updated: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 - 19:42

Kiruna (Sweden): India and China Wednesday got observer status in the Arctic Council along with four other countries.
China, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea and Singapore were granted the status at the eighth ministerial meeting of the Arctic Council convened in Kiruna, the northernmost city of Sweden.

About 230 people, including ministers, delegates from the eight Arctic states, scientists and observers took part in this event, which marks the end of the two-year Swedish chairmanship. Canada is the new chairman.

The Arctic Council, founded about 20 years ago, groups eight Arctic countries: Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the US.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Wednesday, May 15, 2013 - 19:42

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus