Arunachal Assembly polls results: Congress retains power with three-fourth majority

The results will seal the fate of 143 candidates who contested from 49 assembly constituencies along with 11 candidates who were in the fray for Arunachal East and West parliamentary seats.

Zee Media Bureau

20: 50 pm Unlike in other parts of the country, the Congress has secured three-fourth majority in Arunachal Assembly elections by winning 40 seats, including 11 uncontested seats.

The BJP bagged six seats, three more than 2009 elections, while the PPA mustered three and a lone seat went to an independent, election office sources said, PTI reports.

21: 05 pm The Congress has won 40 out of 60 Assembly seats in Arunachal Assembly election.

However, the BJP could manage to win only 6 seats, followed by the PPA with 3 seats and one seat has gone to an independent candidates.

For the remaining 10 seats, counting is going on.

20:51 Nearly 5000 voters opted for None of the Above (NOTA) option in the April 7 Assembly elections in Arunachal Pradesh which constitute one percent of the total votes caste, as per PTI.

Namsai Assembly constituency recorded 406 NOTA options while prestigious Itanagar constituency came second where 356 voters pushed the NOTA option.

20:00 pm Prominent Congress winners include former chief minister Jarbom Gamlin (Liromoba), Speaker Wanglin Lowangdong (Borduria-Bogapani), deputy speaker Jomde Kena (Likabali, RWD Minister Kumar Waii (Bameng), Industries minister Tapang Taloh (Panging), Food and Civil Supply minister Kamlung Mosang (Miao) and Minister of Department of Tirap, Changlang and Longding (DoTCL), transport and cooperation Newlai Tingkhatra (Kanubari), PTI reports.

19:50 pm The Congress has won 35 Assembly seats including 11 uncontested in Arunachal Pradesh, reducing BJP to four.

Meanwhile, People`s Party of Arunachal (PPA) has won three seats and was leading in two. An independent candidate won one seat.

18:02 pm The Congress gets majority in Arunachal Pradesh Assembly by bagging 31 seats out of total 60 seats.

Assembly Speaker Wanglin Lowangdong also won from Borduria -Bogapani constituency.

4:10 pm: The Congress is set to return to power in the northeastern state of Arunachal, as according to the votes counted so far, the party has won 21 seats (including 11 seats won unopposed) and is leading on 12 seats, as per a PTI report.

The regional People`s Party of Arunachal (PPA) has won two seats and is leading in two while the BJP and independents have won one each, adds the report.

02:45 pm According to the latest result statistics, the Congress has won 19 seats, the BJP just one and the regional PPA has managed a couple of seats.

12:45 pm: As per the latest trends available at 12:41 pm, the Congress is leading on 25 seats, while the regional party PPA has just managed to outdo the BJP (3 seats) by leading on 4 seats, according to a tweet by the PIB.

12:30 pm: Nikh Kamin of the People`s Party of Arunachal (PPA) defeated sitting Congress MLA CC Singpho by 1328 votes in Bordumsa-Diyun assembly constituency, while the Congress retained its Dambuk assembly seat as its candidate Gum Tayeng won defeating BJP rival Rhoding Pertin, as per a PTI report.

11:40 am: Unlike its performance in Lok Sabha polls, where the BJP is seen leading on both the seats, the BJP is seen lagging at the third number with the BJD and Congress ahead of it, according to the trends.

11:30 am: The Press Information Bureau has tweeted the latest trends, and Congress is seen leading at one more seat now, with its latest tally at 23. The PPA and the independents are both ahead on three seats each.

10:50 am: According to the latest results by the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting, the Congress is ahead on 22 seats, the BJP on four and the Peoples Party of Arunachal is trailing behind with two seats.

8:00 am: Counting of votes for 49 state Assembly seats started at 8:00 am on Friday.
Arunachal went to polls on April 9 amid high security.

Out of 60 Assembly constituencies, the Congress has already won 11 assembly seats uncontested.

The results on May 16 will seal the fate of 143 candidates who contested from 49 Assembly constituencies.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made in the state and additional CRPF troops have been deployed to maintain law and order.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link