Deshmukh, Shukla among 6 elected unopposed to RS

Vilasrao Deshmukh, Rajiv Shukla, DP Tripathi, Vandana Chavan, Ajay Sancheti and Anil Desai were declared elected unopposed to RS from Maharashtra.

Mumbai: Union ministers Vilasrao Deshmukh
and Rajiv Shukla of Congress, NCP`s DP Tripathi and Vandana
Chavan, BJP`s Ajay Sancheti and Shiv Sena`s Anil Desai were
on Thursday declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from

The result was announced by returning officer Dr Anant
Kalse at Vidhan Bhawan here. Today was the last date of
withdrawal of nominations.

Pune-based builder Sanjay Kakade had on March 20
announced his withdrawal from the fray for the polls scheduled
for March 30. Prakash Binsale, the third candidate fielded by
the Nationalist Congress Party, also pulled out, paving the
way for unopposed election of remaining six candidates.