BJP decimates Congress, wins 4-0 in Assembly polls; stunning show by AAP in Delhi

Aam Aadmi Party convener Arvind Kejriwal while making the victory speech on Sunday said that today`s results show that the public is fed up with the corrupt politics of BJP, Congress.

By Ajith Vijay Kumar | Updated: Dec 09, 2013, 00:54 AM IST

Zee Media Bureau/Ajith Vijay Kumar and Manisha Singh

New Delhi: Putting up an impressive show, the BJP on Sunday routed the Congress 4-0 in the state Assembly elections by sweeping Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, holding on to power in Chhattisgarh and emerging as the single largest party in Delhi. On the other hand, debutants Aam Aadmi Party emerged as a surprise package in Delhi by winning 28 seats out of total 70 seats.

Putting up a brave face, Congress president Sonia Gandhi said, “These results call for deep introspection. We will take necessary steps to correct our mistakes and our way of functioning.”

Importantly, she also said that the party will take a decision on choosing the prime ministerial candidate for 2014.

Party vice president Rahul Gandhi said, “The people have given us a message through these elections, have heard this message from our hearts.”

The Congress party has the capability to stand up to the expectations of the country. As a party we would move to a system to give serious space to the common man,” he added.

Assembly elections result 2013 results, dubbed as the semi-final, will play an important role in shaping politics in the country ahead of the big battle in 2014.

The big talking point after the results would be Narendra Modi charisma and his steady rise as the tallest leader in the BJP.

Delhi assembly elections 2013

Delhi polls 2013 were the most closely-watched elections in recent times. The Congress was decimated in the state, but the shocker of the day was the loss by a huge margin of three-time chief minister, Sheila Dikshit to Arvind Kejriwal of AAP, who has emerged as the giant killer.

A number of heavyweights also lost in Delhi including Kiran Walia. Dikshit, while accepting the verdict of the people resigned immediately after the results were declared.

Out of the total 70 seats, the BJP has won 31 seats, the AAP 28 seats, the Congress just 8 seats and SAD 1.

In-depth Delhi poll results: AAP makes stunning debut, BJP short of majority in Delhi

Rajasthan assembly elections 2013

In Rajasthan, Vasundhara Raje spearheaded the saffron surge, ousting the Congress which registered its worst-ever performance. BJP got 162 seats, its highest ever tally, in the 200-member assembly, leaving Congress with only 21.

In the outgoing assembly, BJP had 78 and Congress 96 seats. Congress under Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot accepted defeat after the state voted overwhelmingly in favour of the BJP. The BSP candidate from Churu JP Mehgwal died on November 16.

Raje said while talking to the media that though she was confident of her party`s victory in the state, she had not anticipated such a huge win. She also said that the good show by the BJP was indicative of the Narendra Modi wave sweeping the country.

In-depth Rajasthan poll results: BJP creates history in Rajasthan, wins 162 seats; Vasundhara Raje set to return as CM

Madhya Pradesh assembly polls 2013

Two-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan of the BJP overcame anti-incumbency on the back of his popularity and people friendly policies of his government. It was a hat-trick for BJP in MP which won 165 seats in the 230-member assembly, with the Congress winning 58 and others 7.

Chauhan, while addressing the media said that he was just a humble worker of the party and emphasised that the victory in the state was that of the BJP.

In-depth Madhya Pradesh poll results: BJP wins big in Madhya Pradesh, hat-trick for Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Chhattisgarh assembly elections 2013

Chief Minister Raman Singh managed to retain his state after the BJP and the Congress was involved in a neck-and-neck fight in the earlier part of the day. After a day-long see-saw battle, the BJP crossed the majority mark of 45 in the 90-member assembly. It has won 49 seats, with the Congress winning 39 and others 2. It was a hat-trick for the Raman Singh.

The BJP had won 50 seats last time and Congress 38.

In-depth Chhattisgarh poll results: After close battle with Congress, Raman Singh manages majority in Chhattisgarh

With PTI inputs