This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

`Illegal occupants in 27 government properties in Lucknow`

Last Updated: Friday, May 24, 2013 - 17:14

Lucknow: Of the 89 government properties allotted by the Uttar Pradesh government here to various organisations and individuals, 27 are being illegally occupied, according to an estate department reply to a Right to Information (RTI) query.

Among those occupying the state government properties illegally are the Rajya Karmchari Sanyukt Parishad, Akhil Bhartiya Kayasth Mahasabha, Shramjeevi Patrakar Union, Uttar Pradesh Bar Council, Yuva Udyog Vyapar Mandal and the Uttar Pradesh Journalists Association.

According to the estate department, other organisations which are illegally occupying such properties include the Uttar Pradesh Madhyamik Shikshak Sangh, Minorities Forum of India, Shoshit Samaj Party in New Vidhayak Niwas, Pushpanjali Sansthan and the All India Kaifi Azmi Academy.

The Vir Bahadur Jan Sansthan at 3, Mall Avenue, in the state capital Lucknow is another illegal occupant.

Some individuals listed as illegal occupants include Manju Rani Maurya, former member of the Population Commission, and Vidyavati Rajbhar, former member of the Women Commission.

Twelve political parties have been allotted government properties for their offices. These include Janata Dal, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bahujan Sanaj Party, Communist Party of India, Lok Dal, Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Nationalist Congress Party, among others.

Of all the political parties, Nationalist Congress Party and All India Democratic Congress party are said to be illegal occupants.

The government houses are also being illegally occupied by several journalists, according to the estate department.


First Published: Friday, May 24, 2013 - 17:14
comments powered by Disqus