close
This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Juno mission: Five things to know about NASA's Jupiter probe

 NASA's Juno spacecraft is all set to make its third science flyby of Jupiter planet, the largest planet in our solar system on Sunday, December 11 at  9:04 a.m. PST (12:04 p.m. EST, 17:04 UTC).


Juno mission: Five things to know about NASA's Jupiter probe
Image courtesy: NASA/JPL-Caltech

New Delhi: NASA's Juno spacecraft is all set to make its third science flyby of Jupiter planet, the largest planet in our solar system on Sunday, December 11 at  9:04 a.m. PST (12:04 p.m. EST, 17:04 UTC).

According to NASA, Juno spacecraft will be about 2,580 miles above the gas giant’s roiling cloud tops and traveling at a speed of about 129,000 mph relative to the planet at the time of closest approach.

Here are some of the important things to know about NASA's Juno mission

  • The Juno mission was launched August 5, 2011 to help improve our understanding of the solar system's beginnings by revealing the origin and evolution of the planet.
  • The spacecraft will map Jupiter’s gravity and magnetic fields to learn what the planet’s interior structure is like.
  • Juno will help determine how much oxygen - whose most common form is in water - the planet holds. Some theories about Jupiter’s formation predict that the amount of oxygen in planet could weigh as much as 20 Earths!
  • Juno will look deep into Jupiter's atmosphere to measure composition, temperature, cloud motions and other properties.
  • It will take 14 days for Juno to complete each orbit, while Jupiter spins every 10 hours

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions