Vijay Hazare Trophy: Bengal beat Assam by seven wickets

Agartala: Bengal defeated Assam by seven wickets in their final group match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy for East Zone at the Maharaja Bir Bikram Stadium here on Friday.

Batting first, Assam were bundled out for a meagre 111. In reply, Bengal achieved the target in just 19.4 overs.

Iresh Saxena led with three wickets giving away just 14 runs, while Sourav Sarkar and Md Sami Ahmed took two wickets each giving away 30 and 10 runs respectively. Ashok Dinda and Sourasish Lahiri also picked up a wicket each.

Utpal Medhi top-scored for Assam with 24, followed by Parvez Aziz 23 and Tijender Singh 18.

Opener Anustup Majumder was the top scorer for Bengal with 32 runs while Sourasish Lahiri made 28 and captain Manoj Tiwari remained unbeaten on 25.

The pick of the Assam bowlers was Arlem Konwar, who picked up all the three Bengal wickets giving away 27 runs.

Brief Scores:

Assam 111 all out in 39.2 overs

Bengal 112 for three in 19.4 overs.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link