Herchelle Gibbs vs Umesh Yadav: Not out to one, out to other – Here's difference between both

Herschelle Gibbs experienced a similar incident while catching a ball in the 1999 World Cup match between Australia and South Africa

Last Updated: Nov 10, 2016, 16:53 PM IST
Herchelle Gibbs vs Umesh Yadav: Not out to one, out to other – Here's difference between both

New Delhi: Day 1 of play between India and England saw Umesh Yadav take a rather controversial catch to dismiss Joe Root.

In the process of taking the catch, Yadav grabbed and quickly tried to throw the ball in air as a mark of celebration. But he fumbled a little and the ball fell behind his back. On-field umpires had to refer the decision to third umpire who gave the decision in India's favour claiming that Yadav was in control of the ball before thowing it up in celerbation, which led to the fumble.

Here's the catch:-

The incident made people revind and reflect on to the 1999 World Cup match between Australia and South Africa where Herschelle Gibbs had a similar experience where he dropped the ball in the act of throwing it up in the air.

That decision, however, was ruled no-out by the third umpire.

Here's the video of that catch drop:-

On seeing Umesh Yadav's incident, Gibbs was quoted by mid-day, "Mine happened quicker than Yadav's".

"There's not much difference between Yadav's and my catch, but he held on to the ball slightly longer than I did. He actually had control of the ball and threw it in the air whereas I wanted to throw it up but dropped it. Mine eventuated in a not out, but Yadav's catch was valid. The umpires got it right both times."

However, this is how the rule changed from pre-2000 to post-2000 period.

"The act of making the catch shall start from the time when a fielder first handles the ball and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control both over the ball and over his own movement."

This rule changed in the year 2000, before which, the following rule was followed:-

"The act of making the catch shall start from the time when the fieldsman first handles the ball and shall end when he both retains complete control over the further disposal of the ball and remains within the field of play."

It can be said that if Umesh Yadav's catch was taken in pre-2000 era, that batsman would not have been given out.