Sri Lanka beat Australia by 35 runs in 1st T20

Zeecric Bureau

Pallekele: Powered by a fine century by the skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan, Sri Lanka registered a facile win over Australia in their opening Twenty20 international on Saturday. They beat the visitors by 35 runs.

Put into bat, Sri Lanka made a huge total of 198 for 3 in the series opener. Dilshan scored 104 runs off 57 balls, which included 12 fours and 5 sixes in a match where the Australians were completely outplayed by the hosts. Dilshan`s century - his first in T20 internationals - earned him the Man of the Match award.

The only noteworthy performance from the Australians came from opener David Warner, who scored a fifty. Warner’s score of 53 came from 31 balls. Dilruwan Perera took 3 wickets for the Sri Lankans.

The Aussies left out Aaron Finch and James Pattinson from their 13-member squad, while the Sri Lankans handed a first cap to Dilruwan Perera, an offspinning allrounder and one of four slow bowlers included in the team.

The second of the two T20s will take place on August 8 in the same venue.

Australia: Cameron White (capt), David Warner, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, David Hussey, Brett Lee, Steven Smith, Stephen O`Keefe, Shaun Marsh, John Hastings.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Dilruwan Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link