Tendulkar, Zaheer in 2011 ICC Test Team of the Year

Dubai: Senior Indian cricketers Sachin Tendulkar and Zaheer Khan earned a place in the ICC Test Team of the Year, chosen by a specially appointed selection panel headed by West Indian legend Clive Lloyd on Friday.

Four countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and Tendulkar made the side for the third year in a row, having appeared in the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2009 and 2010.

South African fast bowler Dale Steyn also featured in the World Test team for the fourth year running. He was a member of the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Steyn`s fellow teammates -- Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis -- along with Sri Lanka`s Kumar Sangakkara, and England duo of Graeme Swann and James Anderson all appeared in the side for the second year in a row.

Former Sri Lanka skipper Sangakkara is named as captain of the team.

"The selection of this year`s Test team was a difficult one with so many worthy candidates available to fill just 12 places," said Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Clive Lloyd in a media conference while announcing the short-lists for the LG ICC Awards 2011 scheduled to be held in London on September 12.

"The team has a formidable line-up that bats well down the order and has bowlers with the ability and form to dismiss any opposition twice on any surface," he said.

The shortlists of the Annual Awards, to be held in association with the Federation of International Cricketers` Associations, was announced after vote by an independent 25-person academy in each category.

The academy includes a host of former players, respected members of the media as well as representatives of the Emirates Elite Panels of ICC Umpires and ICC Match Referees.

The long-lists were made by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd. The panel also includes former captains Zaheer Abbas of Pakistan and England`s Mike Gatting and New Zealand`s Danny Morrison and South Africa`s Paul Adams.

Based on the period between August 11, 2010 and August 3 2011, the LG ICC Awards 2011 take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

Shortlists of nominees for LG ICC Awards:

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Alastair Cook, Sachin Tendulkar, Jonathan Trott.

ICC Test Player of the Year: James Anderson, Alastair Cook, Jacques Kallis, Jonathan Trott

ICC ODI Player of the Year: Hashim Amla, Gautam Gambhir, Kumar Sangakkara, Shane Watson

ICC Emerging Player of the Year: Azhar Ali, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Wahab Riaz

ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate, Hamid Hassan, Kevin O`Brien, Paul Stirling

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Tim Bresnan, JP Duminy, Tim Southee, Shane Watson.

ICC Women`s Cricketer of the Year: Charlotte Edwards, Lydia Greenway, Shelley Nitschke, Stafanie Taylor

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Ian Gould, Simon Taufel

ICC Spirit of Cricket: M S Dhoni, Jacques Kallis

LG People`s Choice Award: Hashim Amla, M S Dhoni, Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara, Jonathan Trott.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link