Bypolls in Uttarakhand and West Bengal will take place on November 25

According to an EC release, notification for the by-elections will be issued on October 30. The last date of filing nomination papers is November 6 and scrutiny of nomination papers will be completed on November 7.

Oct 25, 2019, 23:43 PM IST

Bypolls live update: Polling ends in 51 assembly, 2 Lok Sabha constituencies

The elections are significant as it is the first assembly polls after Narendra Modi led the BJP-led NDA to a resounding victory in the Lok Sabha election in 2019 for a successive second term in office. The maximum numbers of seats going to bypolls are in Uttar Pradesh where voters will be choosing their MLA on 11 seats.

Oct 21, 2019, 07:23 AM IST

By-elections for 1 Lok Sabha constituency, 64 Assembly seats to be held on October 21

Counting of votes in the by-elections will be taken up on October 24 along with the votes cast in Assembly elections of Maharashtra and Haryana.

Sep 21, 2019, 15:19 PM IST

EC announces schedule for bypolls to fill casual vacancies in West Bengal state assembly

Here's the schedule for by-election to fill casual vacancies in WB assembly.

Apr 21, 2019, 00:22 AM IST

Congress-JDS coalition in Karnataka faces litmus test in by-elections

BJP which has been questioning the longevity of the coalition government has predicted its fall once the by-poll results are out.

Nov 02, 2018, 20:13 PM IST

After bypoll loss, 'reality check' for BJP from its own MLA in UP

Shyam said that the party came to power invoking Prime Minister Narendra Modi but could not deliver up to the people's expectations. 

Jun 01, 2018, 16:51 PM IST

UP Bypolls: 38% voter turnout recorded in Phulpur, 43% in Gorakhpur till 5pm

The voting will continue till 5 pm.

Mar 11, 2018, 07:06 AM IST

UP and Bihar bypolls being held amid changing political dynamics

The voting will continue till 5 in the evening. 

Mar 11, 2018, 06:53 AM IST

UP Lok Sabha bypolls: BSP, SP may join hands against BJP

Bypolls will take place on 2 UP Lok Sabha seats. As per sources, BSP-SP may form alliance against BJP on these seats.

Mar 04, 2018, 13:46 PM IST

BSP-SP may form alliance against BJP for UP Lok Sabha bypolls

Bypolls will take place on 2 UP Lok Sabha seats. As per sources, BSP-SP may form alliance against BJP on these seats.

Mar 04, 2018, 09:47 AM IST

Big jolt to Raje govt, Congress sweeps all 3 bypolls seats in Rajasthan

The voting for the seats was held on Monday, January 29, 2018. A total of 42 candidates in fray for three seats in Rajasthan.

Feb 01, 2018, 18:57 PM IST

Polling underway in byelections in Rajasthan, West Bengal - 10 points

Polling is underway in byelections to Lok Sabha and Assembly seats in Rajasthan and West Bengal. The bypolls in these two states are being seen as reflections on the respective state governments.

Jan 29, 2018, 13:26 PM IST

Polling underway in byelections in West Bengal's Uluberia, Naopara

The results of the byelections will be announced on February 1.

Jan 29, 2018, 11:58 AM IST

Trinamool Congress wants simultaneous bypolls to Lok Sabha, assembly seats, appeals to EC

The vacancies were caused due to the resignation of Manas Bhunia, MLA from Sabong, on July 24 this year and the death of Noapara MLA Madhusudan Ghosh on August 18. Sultan Ahmed, who represented Uluberia Lok Sabha seat, died on September 4 this year.

Nov 27, 2017, 17:37 PM IST

Yogi Adityanath, two deputies to fight Legislative Council by-polls

The five BJP candidates are not members of either House of the state legislature. They have to become members of either House by September 19, six months from the date they were sworn in as ministers.

Aug 30, 2017, 23:49 PM IST

UP council bypoll notification issued; Yogi Adityanath may contest

The Election Commission (EC) set in motion on Tuesday the process for filling up four vacant UP Legislative Council seats by issuing the notification for the by-polls.

Aug 29, 2017, 21:27 PM IST

MGP to support BJP candidate during upcoming RS poll, bypolls

The Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), an alliance partner in the Goa government, will support BJP candidate during the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls.

Jul 08, 2017, 20:29 PM IST

Sikkim Democratic Front wins upper Burtuk Assembly seat

Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) candidate Dilli Ram Thapa on Saturday won the upper Burtuk Assembly seat, garnering 8,406 votes in the bypolls.

Apr 15, 2017, 13:16 PM IST

BJP's Sambit Patra taunts Arvind Kejriwal after AAP candidate lost deposit in Rajouri Garden by-poll - Here's what he said

Bharatiya Janata Party's Manjinder Singh Sirsa won the Delhi Assembly by-election from the Rajouri Garden constituency today.

Apr 13, 2017, 15:58 PM IST

Bypolls results 2017: BJP bags 5 out of 10 seats; PM Modi congratulates party workers for impressive performance

By-elections were held in 10 Assembly constituencies in eight states on Sunday.

Apr 13, 2017, 08:47 AM IST