News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox


Full list of candidates going to polls in Bihar in fifth phase of Lok Sabha election 2019

The constituencies going to polls in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha election 2019 are Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran and Hajipur in Bihar.

May 05, 2019, 15:08 PM IST

Saran Lok Sabha Constituency of Bihar: Full list of candidates, polling dates

Here is the full list of candidates contesting the Lok Sabha election in 2019 from Saran Lok Sabha Constituency of Bihar.

Apr 23, 2019, 16:23 PM IST

Saran Lok Sabha Constituency

Saran constituency covers six assembly segments –  Marhaura, Chapra, Garkha, Amnour, Parsa and Sonpur.

Apr 22, 2019, 16:50 PM IST

Rajiv Pratap Rudy appointed as BJP national spokesperson

Rajiv Pratap Rudy is BJP Lok Sabha MP from Saran, Bihar.

Dec 22, 2018, 17:52 PM IST

Centre approves new 4-lane bridge across river Ganga on NH-19 in Patna

This mega project is 14.500 kilometres long and passes through Patna, Saran and Vaishali districts of Bihar.

Dec 18, 2018, 06:42 AM IST

IIT Kanpur girl student alleges rape by IAF officer

An IIT-Kanpur girl student has accused an Indian Air Force officer of raping her repeatedly after promising marriage.

Jan 25, 2018, 15:33 PM IST

Two businessmen killed, one injured in separate incidents in Bihar

Unidentified men shot two businessmen on Friday, killing one and injuring another near Chhapra bus stand, in Saran district, 80 km northwest of Patna.

Nov 25, 2017, 07:59 AM IST

Lightning kills 26 people in Bihar, State Government announces compensation of Rs 4 lakh

Deaths were reported from Vaishali, Patna, Rohtas, Saran, Buxar, Bhojpur, Gaya, Samastipur, Siwan, Araria and Aurangabad districts on Sunday, Bihar State Disaster Department official Anirudh Kumar said.

Jul 10, 2017, 12:13 PM IST

Lightning kills 16 in Bihar's Vaishali district

According to officials of the Bihar State Disaster Department, five persons were killed in Vaishali district, followed by three in Bhojpur district and two each in Buxar and Samastipur districts.

Jul 09, 2017, 20:25 PM IST

BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy's car meets with an accident

BJP leader and Union minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy on Sunday suffered minor injured following a car accident. 

Aug 21, 2016, 13:11 PM IST

Bihar: Woman injured as bomb she was carrying goes off at court

A woman was seriously injured after the bomb she was carrying with her, went off accidentally at civil court premises in Bihar's Saran district today, police said.

Apr 18, 2016, 13:48 PM IST

Over Rs 7 crore seized in poll-bound Bihar

Over Rs 7 crore in cash was recovered from vehicles on Wednesday in Bihar`s Saran and Siwan districts during routine checking in the poll-bound state, police said.

Sep 30, 2015, 12:19 PM IST

Chapra boat tragedy: Death toll climbs to five

 With the recovery of two more bodies today, the death toll rose to five in the boat mishap incident in Saran district.

Sep 15, 2015, 22:20 PM IST

Bihar places five districts on alert after Nepal landslide

The Bihar government on Sunday sounded flood alert in five districts after a massive landslide, triggered by recent earthquakes, blocked the Kali Gandaki river at Benibazar in Myagdi district of Nepal, leading to accumulation of a huge volume of water there.

May 24, 2015, 23:39 PM IST

One killed, 20 injured in road accidents in Bihar

One person was killed and 20 others were injured in a road accidents in Bihar's Saran and Jamui districts today.

May 01, 2015, 13:52 PM IST

Police station chief shot dead in Bihar

A police officer was shot dead in broad daylight Monday by unidentified attackers in Bihar`s Saran district, officials said.

Dec 22, 2014, 17:38 PM IST

Bank guard foils bid to loot Rs 14 lakh, shot dead in Chapra

A security guard employed with a bank was shot dead by armed robbers Monday after he foiled their attempt to decamp with Rs 14 lakh from a cash van in Saran district of Bihar, police said.

Aug 25, 2014, 15:35 PM IST

Eight phase of Lok Sabha polls: List of constituencies and key candidates

Amethi, Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, kaushambi, Phulpur, Allahabad, Faizabad, Ambedkar Nagar, Bahraich, Kaiserganj, Shrawasti, Gonda, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Bhadohi

May 07, 2014, 10:51 AM IST

LS polls: Over 56 percent voting in seven LS seats of Bihar

Over 56 per cent voting was registered today in seven Lok Sabha seats of Bihar in the fifth phase of elections in the state which also witnessed death of one person in police firing outside a booth.

May 07, 2014, 07:58 AM IST

Rabri, Rudy battle it out in Saran

RJD chief Lalu Prasad`s wife Rabri Devi is locked in a tough fight with BJP`s Rajiv Pratap Rudy in Bihar`s Saran constituency.

May 06, 2014, 14:56 PM IST