Arjuna Award

Table tennis player Madhurika Patkar appeals all to participate in Fit India Freedom Run

Indian table tennis star Madhurika Patkar has urged his conutrymen to take part in the ongoing Fit India Freedom Run, which was launched on August 14 by the Union Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Kiren Rijiju.

Sep 07, 2020, 21:47 PM IST

Indian shuttler Jwala Gutta announces engagement with actor Vishnu Vishal

Indian badminton star Jwala Gutta on Monday announced that she has got engaged to Tamil actor Vishnu Vishal on the occasion of her 37th birthday.

Sep 07, 2020, 19:01 PM IST

Will continue to play till the time my body allows: Ishant Sharma after winning Arjuna Award

Sharma was among 27 sportspersons who were conferred with this year's Arjuna Award, which is given to recognize outstanding achievement in sports.

Aug 30, 2020, 12:15 PM IST

My father's dream is being fulfilled: Para-swimmer Suyash Jadhav on winning Arjuna Award

The 2018 Asian Para Games Gold medallist will be conferred the Arjuna Award on Saturday  

Aug 29, 2020, 16:12 PM IST

Coach Sjoerd Marijne 'very pleased' with women's hockey players getting recognized with National Awards

The coach expressed his happiness on Rani Rampal and Deepika getting honored with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards respectively 

Aug 25, 2020, 18:23 PM IST

Born August 24, 1997: Deepti Sharma, Indian woman cricketer

Deepti received her maiden cap for India during a One-Day International (ODI) match against South Africa Women in November 2014.

Aug 24, 2020, 19:53 PM IST

Wrestler Sakshi Malik unhappy after Arjuna Award snub

The only woman wrestler to win an Olympic medal for India has voiced her displeasure on Twitter after not being awarded the prestigious Arjuna Award

Aug 23, 2020, 20:19 PM IST

BCCI congratulates Ishant Sharma, Deepti Sharma on winning Arjuna Awards

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has congratulated Indian pacer Ishant Sharma and women's team all-rounder Ishant Sharma on being conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award.

Aug 22, 2020, 17:43 PM IST

National Sports Awards 2020: Rohit Sharma, Manika Batra and three others to be conferred with Khel Ratna Award

The awardees will receive their awards from President Ram Nath Kovind at a specially organized function through virtual mode from Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2020.

Aug 21, 2020, 19:20 PM IST

Sakshi Malik: Matter of pride that I will be conferred with Arjuna Award

Malik had also won the silver medal at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, and the bronze medal at the 2015 Asian Wrestling Championships in Doha. 

Aug 20, 2020, 10:57 AM IST

Selection committee recommends names for Dronacharya, Dhyan Chand Award

Jude Felix, Romesh Pathania, Jaspal Rana, and Kuldeep Handoo are among the 13 names recommended for the Dronacharya Award this year according to a source within the Sports Ministry 

Aug 18, 2020, 09:57 AM IST

Former Indian cricketer Chetan Chauhan critical, put on ventilator support

Former Indian cricketer and Uttar Pradesh minister Chetan Chauhan's health has deteriorated and he has been shifted to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU). He was tested positive for the novel coronavirus last month.

Aug 15, 2020, 19:09 PM IST

Weightlifter Sanjita Chanu to finally get Arjuna Award after being cleared of doping charge

Chanu had won back-to-back gold medals in the 2014 and 2018 Commonwealth Games in the 48kg and 53kg categories respectively.

Jun 25, 2020, 17:45 PM IST

Pullela Gopichand recommends HS Prannoy for Arjuna Award

On June 2, BAI had recommended Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Shetty and Sameer Verma for Arjuna award, leaving out Prannoy which prompted the shuttler to express his displeasure on Twitter.

Jun 21, 2020, 16:21 PM IST

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma for Khel Ratna, Deepti Sharma, Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan for Arjuna Awards

“Shikhar has been consistently scoring at the top and his performances in the ICC events have been significant. Deepti is a genuine all-rounder and her contribution to the team has been vital,” said BCCI President Sourav Ganguly. 

May 30, 2020, 21:37 PM IST

Legendary Indian footballer Pradip Kumar Banerjee aka PK critical, undergoing treatment in Kolkata hospital

Pradip Kumar Banerjee, the legendary Indian footballer and two-time Olympian popularly known as PK, remains in a critical condition. a Kolkata hospital where he is undergoing treatment for respiratory problem due to pneumonia said in a statement on Wednesday.

Mar 12, 2020, 13:43 PM IST

Was my dream to receive Arjuna Award from President Ram Nath Kovind: Para-shuttler Pramod Bhagat

Bhagat was conferred with Arjuna Award on August 29 from President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhawan. 

Aug 31, 2019, 18:50 PM IST

Hope Arjuna Award will inspire young footballers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu

On Thursday, Gurpreet received the Award from the President Ram Nath Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

Aug 30, 2019, 17:13 PM IST

National Sports Awards 2019: Deepa Malik, Bajrang Punia to be conferred with Khel Ratna

Khel Ratna is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year.

Aug 20, 2019, 17:56 PM IST

Dutee Chand's nomination for Arjuna award, Harbhajan's for Khel Ratna rejected

"Ministry has asked Athletics Federation of India (AFI) to give the order of ranking for given nominations and she stands at fifth. So her nomination was rejected," a source in the Sports Authority of India (SAI) told ANI.

Jul 28, 2019, 00:20 AM IST