News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Rajya Sabha polls

Rajya Sabha polls: Seven 'rebel' JD-S MLAs who voted for Congress in Karnataka quit party

The seven 'rebel' JD-S MLAs will reportedly join the Congress party on Sunday.

Mar 24, 2018, 21:38 PM IST

News at a glance: March 24, 2018

Top headlines on Saturday morning

Mar 24, 2018, 09:38 AM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP avenges by-poll defeat in UP, Congress wins big in Karnataka

While BSP has cried foul and said money power triumphed, BJP said it is win of truth in UP. In other results, Congress bagged three seats in Karnataka and Trinamool managed four in West Bengal.

Mar 24, 2018, 00:01 AM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: Left-backed media baron Veerendra Kumar elected from Kerala

The 80-year-old MP Veerendra Kumar, a former Union Minister and newspaper baron, secured 89 votes as against 40 that Congress's Babu Prasad got.

Mar 23, 2018, 23:56 PM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: Congress's AM Singhvi, 4 TMC candidates win from West Bengal

The four TMC candidates were elected to the Rajya Sabha on Friday while only Congress could send only one candidate to the Upper House. 

Mar 23, 2018, 23:45 PM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP's Saroj Pandey wins from Chhattisgarh

BJP's Saroj Pandey has won the Rajya Sabha election from Chhattisgarh by defeating Congress's Lekhram Sahu on Friday.

Mar 23, 2018, 23:27 PM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: Three TRS candidates declared winners, Congress's P Balram loses

TRS candidates B Prakash, B Lingaiah Yadav and J Santosh Kumar were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Telangana in the election held to fill three vacancies from the state on Friday.

Mar 23, 2018, 23:18 PM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP bags nine seats, Samajwadi Party 1 in Uttar Pradesh

The nine BJP members who have been elected to Rajya Sabha from UP are Arun Jaitley, Ashok Bajpai, Vijaya Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, GVL Narsimha Rao and Anil Agarwal.

Mar 23, 2018, 23:01 PM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: List of representatives elected to the Upper House

Here is the list of those who have been elected to the Rajya Sabha.

Mar 23, 2018, 19:37 PM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: Congress MLA Anila Bhediya accused of disclosing vote

Congress MLA Anila Bhediya has been accused of disclosing her vote cast in a secret ballot, in a gross violation of election norms.

Mar 23, 2018, 17:24 PM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: Cross-voting reported from Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka | BJP likely to gain

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLA Anil Singh openly declared his support for BJP

Mar 23, 2018, 14:58 PM IST

News at a glance: March 23, 2018

Top headlines on Friday morning:

Mar 23, 2018, 09:59 AM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP avenges Lok Sabha by-poll defeat in UP, wins 12 seats, Congress 5

In all the elections held for 25 seats on Friday, BJP won 12, Congress managed five, Trinamool gained four, Telangana Rashtra Samiti three and the Samajwadi Party one.

Mar 23, 2018, 08:18 AM IST

Uttar Pradesh - Rajya Sabha polls: Key highlights

Uttar Pradesh which will elect ten Rajya Sabha members on Friday.

Mar 23, 2018, 00:48 AM IST

Stage set for polls for 25 Rajya Sabha seats, all eyes on Uttar Pradesh

Arithmetically, the ruling BJP should easily win eight out of the 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Mar 22, 2018, 22:58 PM IST

Jailed mafia don Mukhtar Ansari gets EC nod to vote in Rajya Sabha polls

BSP MP Mukhtar Ansari is a prime accused in the murder of BJP MLA Krishnanand Rai and has pleaded not guilty.

Mar 22, 2018, 11:21 AM IST

Elections for 58 seats of Rajya Sabha to be held on March 23: Will BJP have a cakewalk?

Rajya Sabha has a total of 245 seats and any party or political bloc needs at least 126 seats for a majority in the Upper House. 

Mar 22, 2018, 07:54 AM IST

Mamata-led Trinamool asks party MLAs to vote for Congress leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi

Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress on Tuesday asked 10 MLAs to vote for party supported Congress candidate Abhishek Manu Singhvi in the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls.

Mar 21, 2018, 00:24 AM IST

Seven union ministers win Rajya Sabha polls unopposed, contest in six states

Seven Union ministers were declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha on Thursday.

Mar 16, 2018, 00:27 AM IST

Rajya Sabha polls: All three BJP candidates elected unopposed from Rajasthan

BJP candidates - Kirori Meena, Bhupender Yadav and Madan Lal Saini - were declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan.

Mar 15, 2018, 17:34 PM IST