News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox


Hamirpur, Pala, Dantewada and Badharghat by-election results to be declared on Friday

The by-election in four assembly seats in Chhattisgarh, Kerala, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh – Dantewada, Pala, Badharghat and Hamirpur – respectively was held on September 23.

Sep 26, 2019, 23:50 PM IST

Lok Sabha Election 2019: PETA India asks political parties to follow poll code, not use animals in campaigns

PETA India also appealed to the public to report any violations of the poll code, particularly the use of animals in election campaigns by political parties, through a mobile application of the ECI.

Apr 02, 2019, 13:37 PM IST

Lok Sabha election schedule may be announced next week

Vigyan Bhavan, the venue for big government events, has been booked by the poll panel for preparatory meetings. The schedule for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections was announced on March 5.

Mar 10, 2019, 08:51 AM IST

In crucial meet today, Election Commission set to decide on Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, two Election Commissioners and other top officials of the poll panel will attend the meeting. 

Mar 08, 2019, 14:23 PM IST

Parliamentary panel asks FB, WhatsApp to tackle fake news, engage more with ECI

The panel asked the social media companies to tackle fake news and engage more with the poll panel.

Mar 06, 2019, 13:02 PM IST

Election Commission calls all-party meet on August 27 to discuss electoral process

The Election Commission of India has called a meeting of all National & State recognized Political Parties to discuss issues related to Electoral Process on August 27 in Delhi.

Aug 24, 2018, 19:24 PM IST

Akhilesh Yadav's SP earned the most in 2016-17; 32 parties earned over Rs 321 crore

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Jammu & Kashmir National Conference (JKNC), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), etc. are among the 16 regional parties whose audit reports were unavailable on the Election Commission's website. 

May 23, 2018, 10:05 AM IST

Election Commission announces dates for Maharashtra biennial polls, Andhra Pradesh by-election

According to the Election Commission, the biennial elections in Maharashtra and a by-poll in Andhra Pradesh will be held on May 21 between 8 am and 4 pm.

Apr 23, 2018, 17:53 PM IST

Status update? Election Commission to rethink working with Facebook, says Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat

The CEC said the Constitutional body is taking the possible data breaches and their misuse very seriously.

Mar 23, 2018, 10:19 AM IST

Give life ban to convicted MPs, MLAs from contesting polls: EC to SC

In a significant development, the Election Commission on Wednesday pressed for a life ban on convicted MPs and MLAs from contesting polls.

Nov 01, 2017, 15:05 PM IST

Himachal Pradesh state assembly elections: All you need to know

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced that the state assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh will take place on November 9 while the counting will take place on December 18. Here's a quick fact sheet of the upcoming state assembly election.

Oct 12, 2017, 17:07 PM IST

State assembly elections: Election Commission of India goes extra mile for differently-abled voters

Voting in Himachal Pradesh will take place on November 8 and counting will be on December 18. EC says state governments in HP and Gujarat have already been told to assist diffrerntly abled voters in every way possible.

Oct 12, 2017, 16:38 PM IST

AICTE, ECI felicitate winners of Chhatra Vishwakrma Awards

All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and Engineering Council of India (ECI) on Tuesday, praised the award winners of 'AICTE-ECI Chhatra Vishwakrma Awards' (AICTE) approved Degree & Diploma level Technical Institutions/Universities in New Delhi.

Sep 19, 2017, 23:58 PM IST

Rajasthan, Dholpur by-poll results: BJP's Shobha Rani Kushavah wins; Congress cries EVM tampering

In Dholpur Assembly constituency in Rajasthan, where the BJP is in power, nearly 80 percent polling was recorded till 6 pm on Sunday.

Apr 13, 2017, 10:32 AM IST

Delhi poll panel opposes Yogendra Yadav-led Swaraj India's symbol plea

Yogendra Yadav-led Swaraj India's plea for a common symbol to contest the upcoming MCD polls was today opposed in the Delhi High Court by the Delhi State Election Commission.

Mar 20, 2017, 20:08 PM IST

ECI to hold elections to six seats of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council on April 17

The Election Commission of India (ECI) will hold polls to 6 seats of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council on April 17.

Mar 17, 2017, 01:00 AM IST

UP Assembly elections: Congress, Akhilesh Yadav-led SP alliance talks to revive after EC hearing

Talks for an alliance between the Congress and the Samajwadi Party faction led by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav are likely to revive after the Election Commission hearing on the SP party symbol, according to Congress sources.

Jan 12, 2017, 21:38 PM IST

2017 assembly polls: Election Commission may announce election schedule today

The Election Commission of India (ECI) may announce dates for upcoming Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur on Wednesday. 

Jan 04, 2017, 09:18 AM IST

EC selects singer-actor Gurdas Maan as state icon for Punjab assembly polls

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Wednesday selected famous Punjabi singer and actor Gurdas Maan as the state icon for the 2017 assembly polls.

Jul 13, 2016, 21:10 PM IST

West Bengal Assembly Elections: EC files police case against Abdur Rezzak Mollah for Roopa Ganguly barb

Dissatisfied by his reply to the show-cause notice, the Election Commission on Thursday ordered a police case against Trinamool Congress candidate Abdur Rezzak Mollah over his "objectionable" remarks about BJP's actress-turned-poll nominee Roopa Ganguly.

Apr 21, 2016, 23:26 PM IST