Karnataka Assembly

Karnataka Congress leader Prakash Rathod caught 'watching' obscene videos in Assembly

Karnataka Congress legislator Prakash Rathod was seen surfing through his phone; and among other visuals, a few porn clips were also seen on his phone storage. The politician, however, does not click on any but goes ahead to look at the other items on his phone.

Jan 30, 2021, 06:50 AM IST

Anti-cow slaughter bill passed in Karnataka Assembly amid din

In Karnataka, the anti-cow slaughter bill was passed in the assembly on Wednesday.

Dec 09, 2020, 20:04 PM IST

Expel Anand Singh from Karnataka cabinet as forest minister: Siddaramaiah to CM Yediyurappa

This comes amid a number of cases, pending against Singh, including those under the Karnataka Forest Act.

Feb 17, 2020, 20:37 PM IST

Ahead of Cabinet expansion, hectic lobbying in Karnataka BJP for plum posts

After the party`s high command cleared the names of the lawmakers for the much-awaited second Cabinet expansion, Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa on Sunday announced that 13 lawmakers would take oath as ministers on February 6.

Feb 03, 2020, 19:19 PM IST

BS Yeddyurappa-led BJP government to face floor test today in Karnataka Assembly

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa on Sunday said that he will move the confidence motion in the state assembly on Monday. Talking to media after the BJP legislature party meeting, Veteran BJP said that we have discussed the brief plan about the confidence motion in the party’s legislative meeting.

He added, ‘I will move the confidence motion in the Vidhana Soudha on Monday’. The new BJP government, that came to power last week after unseating coalition government, will face the trust vote on Monday.

An assembly session has also been called for the trust vote of the new government. BS Yeddyurappa added that he will table the finance bill in the house as well.

Day after taking oath as Chief Minister, BS Yeddyurappa on Sunday chaired BJP Legislature meeting at a private hotel and later decided to keep all its lawmakers in the hotel itself.

Jul 29, 2019, 10:48 AM IST

14 rebel Karnataka MLAs to challenge their disqualification in SC

All the 14 Karnataka rebel legislators, who were disqualified by Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Sunday for defying their party whips to attend the House on July 23, said they would challenge the Speaker`s decision in the Supreme Court on Monday.

Jul 28, 2019, 17:55 PM IST

Karnataka Assembly number game: Who stands where ahead of Yediyurappa's floor test

With the 14 disqualification of 14 MLAs on Sunday and three others on 25 July, the Assembly is short by 17 legislators.

Jul 28, 2019, 13:15 PM IST

Highlights from Karnataka Assembly: Kumaraswamy loses trust vote, JDS-Congress government falls

HD Kumaraswamy's tenure as CM comes to an end as he loses trust vote 99 to 105.

Jul 23, 2019, 07:05 AM IST

Trust vote in Karnataka Assembly put off till Tuesday

A decision on extending the Parliament session is expected to be taken on Tuesday with the government apparently keen on its extension to finish its legislative agenda and the opposition parties not very keen saying that there was no urgent business and many bills should go to the standing committees.

Jul 23, 2019, 00:29 AM IST

BSP MLA N Mahesh to skip Karnataka floor test on 'Mayawati's direction'

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLA N Mahesh who bagged the Congress-Janata Dal Secular government in Karnataka has said that he will not be attending the floor test on Tuesday. He said that he will skip the trust vote as per the direction of BJP supremo Mayawati, news agency ANI reported.

Jul 21, 2019, 17:41 PM IST

Karnataka floor test delayed till Monday

Karnataka assembly floor test has been delayed till Monday as JDS-Congress coalition government on Friday ignored Governor Vajubhai Vala's deadlines to prove majority in the House.

Jul 20, 2019, 08:38 AM IST

Breaking News: Governor directs CM HD Kumaraswamy to face floor test by 6pm

The Karnataka Assembly failed to meet the 1.30 pm deadline set by Governor Vajubhai Vala for CM HD Kumaraswamy to prove his majority in the House.The Governor has now directed CM HD Kumaraswamy to face floor test by 6pm. Watch full video to know more.

Jul 19, 2019, 16:44 PM IST

16 rebel MLAs who triggered Karnataka political crisis

The political crisis in Karnataka led to trial of strength in the state Assembly on Thursday.

Jul 18, 2019, 12:05 PM IST

As Kumaraswamy faces floor test in Karnataka Assembly, here's a look at the number game

While the Supreme Court on Wednesday said that the rebel MLAs cannot be pressured to vote, Kumaraswamy has issued a whip to party MLAs to be present in the Assembly for the floor test. 

Jul 18, 2019, 10:26 AM IST

Karnataka Assembly numbers as CM Kumaraswamy gets ready for trust vote

If the 15 MLAs skip the voting or if their resignations are accepted, the effective strength of the House will be reduced to 210, including the Speaker. 

Jul 17, 2019, 12:34 PM IST

Congress, JDS issue whip to MLAs to attend Monsoon Session of Assembly on Friday

The Congress-JDS government, which came to power around 13 months ago, plunged into a serious crisis on Saturday following the resignation of over a dozen MLAs from the two parties.

Jul 11, 2019, 22:39 PM IST

Karnataka Assembly adjourned for the day amid BJP protests against govt

A chaotic scene greeted Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar as he entered, with the BJP MLAs in the Well of the House.

Feb 07, 2019, 13:52 PM IST

Karnataka Speaker fumes over absence of ministers, says ‘they can’t take the House lightly’

Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Wednesday took strong exception to the absence of several ministers in the House.

Jul 04, 2018, 17:39 PM IST

Congress should drop Rahul as PM candidate, says Gujarat BJP chief

With the BJP set to emerge as the single largest party in Karnataka, Gujarat BJP president Jitu Vaghani today advised the Congress to replace Rahul Gandhi as its prime ministerial face.

May 15, 2018, 18:36 PM IST

Congress to support JD(S) to form government in Karnataka

The Congress has announced to support the Janata Dal (Secular) to form the next government in Karnataka.

May 15, 2018, 16:50 PM IST