Know which parties currently hold the seats going to polls in first phase of Lok Sabha election

The BJP has sitting MPs in 29 of these 91 constituencies while the Congress has 8 of these seats.

Know which parties currently hold the seats going to polls in first phase of Lok Sabha election

In the 91 constituencies where voting is underway in the first phase on April 11, much is at state for the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Congress as well as Telangana Rashtra Samithi and Telugu Desam Party. These are the parties which currently hold the maximum number of seats where voting is being held on Thursday.

The BJP has sitting MPs in 30 of these 91 constituencies while the Congress has 7 of these seats. In 25 seats of Andhra Pradesh and 17 seats of Telangana which are going to polls in a single phase on Thursday, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi and Telugu Desam Party will be looking to expand their vote share. The TRS and TDP have sitting MPs in 12 and 15 seats respectively. 

Another big player in the race in the south in YSR Congress Party. The Jagan Mohan Reddy-led party currently has 9 seats in the Lok Sabha.

Here is a division of which parties currently hold the seats in which voting is being held in the first phase.

1 Uttar Pradesh BAGHPAT Bharatiya Janata Party
2 Uttar Pradesh BIJNOR Bharatiya Janata Party
3 Uttar Pradesh GAUTAM BUDDHA NAGAR Bharatiya Janata Party
4 Uttar Pradesh GHAZIABAD Bharatiya Janata Party
5 Uttar Pradesh KAIRANA* Rashtriya Lok Dal
6 Uttar Pradesh MEERUT Bharatiya Janata Party
7 Uttar Pradesh MUZAFFARNAGAR Bharatiya Janata Party
8 Uttar Pradesh SAHARANPUR Bharatiya Janata Party
9 Maharashtra BHANDARA–GONDIYA* Nationalist Congress Party
10 Maharashtra CHANDRAPUR Bharatiya Janata Party
11 Maharashtra GADCHIROLI–CHIMUR Bharatiya Janata Party
12 Maharashtra NAGPUR Bharatiya Janata Party
13 Maharashtra RAMTEK Shiv Sena
14 Maharashtra WARDHA Bharatiya Janata Party
15 Maharashtra ZAHIRABAD Telangana Rashtra Samithi
16 Andhra Pradesh AMALAPURAM Telugu Desam
17 Andhra Pradesh ANAKAPALLI Telugu Desam
18 Andhra Pradesh ANANTAPUR Telugu Desam
19 Andhra Pradesh ARAKU YSR Congress Party
20 Andhra Pradesh BAPATLA Telugu Desam
21 Andhra Pradesh CHITTOOR Telugu Desam
22 Andhra Pradesh ELURU Telugu Desam
23 Andhra Pradesh GUNTUR Telugu Desam
24 Andhra Pradesh HINDUPUR Telugu Desam
25 Andhra Pradesh KADAPA YSR Congress Party
26 Andhra Pradesh KAKINADA Telugu Desam
27 Andhra Pradesh KURNOOL YSR Congress Party
28 Andhra Pradesh MACHILIPATNAM Telugu Desam
29 Andhra Pradesh NANDYAL YSR Congress Party
30 Andhra Pradesh NARASAPURAM Bharatiya Janata Party
31 Andhra Pradesh NARASARAOPET Telugu Desam
32 Andhra Pradesh NELLORE YSR Congress Party
33 Andhra Pradesh ONGOLE YSR Congress Party
34 Andhra Pradesh RAJAHMUNDRY Telugu Desam
35 Andhra Pradesh RAJAMPET YSR Congress Party
36 Andhra Pradesh SRIKAKULAM Telugu Desam
37 Andhra Pradesh TIRUPATI YSR Congress Party
38 Andhra Pradesh VIJAYAWADA Telugu Desam
39 Andhra Pradesh VISAKHAPATNAM Bharatiya Janata Party
40 Andhra Pradesh VIZIANAGARAM Telugu Desam
41 Assam DIBRUGARH Bharatiya Janata Party
42 Assam JORHAT Bharatiya Janata Party
43 Assam KALIABOR Congress
44 Assam LAKHIMPUR Bharatiya Janata Party
45 Assam TEZPUR Bharatiya Janata Party
46 Bihar AURANGABAD Bharatiya Janata Party
47 Bihar GAYA Bharatiya Janata Party
48 Bihar JAMUI Lok Janshakti Party
49 Bihar NAWADA Bharatiya Janata Party
50 Jammu and Kashmir BARAMULLA People's Democratic Party
51 Jammu and Kashmir JAMMU Bharatiya Janata Party
52 Arunachal Pradesh ARUNACHAL EAST Congress
53 Arunachal Pradesh ARUNACHAL WEST Bharatiya Janata Party
54 Manipur OUTER MANIPUR Congress
55 Meghalaya SHILLONG Congress
56 Meghalaya TURA National People's Party
57 Mizoram MIZORAM Congress
58 Nagaland NAGALAND* Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
59 Odisha BERHAMPUR Biju Janata Dal
60 Odisha KALAHANDI Biju Janata Dal
61 Odisha KORAPUT Biju Janata Dal
62 Odisha NABARANGPUR Biju Janata Dal
63 Sikkim SIKKIM Sikkim Democratic Front
64 Tripura TRIPURA WEST Communist Party of India (Marxist)
65 West Bengal ALIPURDUARS Trinamool Congress
66 West Bengal COOCH BEHAR Trinamool Congress
67 Andaman And Nicobar Islands ANDAMAN AND NICOBAR ISLANDS Bharatiya Janata Party
68 Lakshadeep LAKSHADWEEP Nationalist Congress Party
69 Chhattisgarh BASTAR Bharatiya Janata Party
70 Uttarakhand ALMORA Bharatiya Janata Party
71 Uttarakhand GARHWAL Bharatiya Janata Party
72 Uttarakhand HARIDWAR Bharatiya Janata Party
73 Uttarakhand NAINITAL–UDHAM SINGH NAGAR Bharatiya Janata Party
74 Uttarakhand TEHRI GARHWAL Bharatiya Janata Party
75 Telangana ADILABAD Telangana Rashtra Samithi
76 Telangana PEDDAPALLE Telangana Rashtra Samithi
77 Telangana KARIMNAGAR Telangana Rashtra Samithi
78 Telangana NIZAMABAD Telangana Rashtra Samithi
79 Telangana ZAHIRABAD Telangana Rashtra Samithi
80 Telangana MEDAK Telangana Rashtra Samithi
81 Telangana MALKAJGIRI Telugu Desam
82 Telangana SECUNDERABAD Bharatiya Janata Party
83 Telangana HYDERABAD All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen
84 Telangana CHEVELLA Telangana Rashtra Samithi
85 Telangana MAHBUBNAGAR Telangana Rashtra Samithi
86 Telangana NAGARKURNOOL Congress
87 Telangana NALGONDA Congress
88 Telangana BHONGIR Telangana Rashtra Samithi
89 Telangana WARANGAL Telangana Rashtra Samithi
90 Telangana MAHABUBABAD Telangana Rashtra Samithi
91 Telangana KHAMMAM YSR Congress Party

*Seats where bypolls were held

Some of the key Lok Sabha constituencies in the first phase are:

* Ghaziabad in Uttar Pradesh - BJP's General VK Singh contesting against Congress' Dolly Sharma and SP's Suresh Bansal.

* Kairana in Uttar Pradesh - BJP has fielded Pradeep Kumar against Congress' Harendra Malik and SP's Tabassum Begum.

* Muzaffarnagar in Uttar Pradesh - Sanjeev Kumar Balyan is leading the BJP charge against RLD's Ajit Singh.

* Nagpur in Maharashtra - Union minister Nitin Gadkari is fighting against Congress' Nana Patole.

* Nizamabad in Telangana - There are 185 candidates here. Main among them is Kalvakuntla Kavitha - daughter of Telangana CM KCR. She takes on Congress' Madhu Yashki Goud.

* Hyderabad in Telangana - AIMIM chief Asaduddin takes on BJP's Bhagvanth Rao.

* Vishakapatnam in Andhra Pradesh - BJP's Daggubati Purandeswari - daughter of NT Rama Rao fights TDP's MV Sribharat and Congress'Pedada Ramani Kumari.

* Vijaywada in Andhra Pradesh - TDP's Kesineni Srinivas is contesting against YSRCP candidate Potuluri Vara Prasad.

* Tezpur in Assam - Pallab Lochan Das of BJP is fighting against Congress' GVK Bhanu.

* Gaya in Bihar - Former state CM Jitan Ram Manjhi takes on JDU's Vijay Kumar Manjhi.

* Jammu in Jammu and Kashmir - BJP's Jugal Kishore battles against Congress' Raman Bhalla.

Live Tv

Trending news