News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Aam Aadmi Party

Crime rising in Delhi; 6 rapes daily, 'substantial increase' in killings

The number of total crimes in the national capital registered this year till September 15 was 2,12,763, compared to 1,67,480 cases lodged in the corresponding period in 2018, according to Delhi Police data. The concern over the rising crime graph assumes more significance as the Assembly polls in Delhi are just a few months away.

Oct 05, 2019, 13:01 PM IST

Former AAP leader Alka Lamba disqualified from Delhi Assembly

Lamba had rejoined the Congress after almost six years. She had quit the Congress in 2013 to join the AAP and won the Chandani Chowk seat in 2015. However, Lamba had been at loggerhead with the AAP leaders since December 2018 when she objected to a decision to pass a resolution in the Delhi Assembly seeking revocation of Rajiv Gandhi`s Bharat Ratna.

Sep 19, 2019, 18:57 PM IST

Jolt for Congress as former Jharkhand chief Ajoy Kumar joins Aam Aadmi Party

In a major blow for the Congress just weeks ahead of assembly election in Jharkhand, the party's former state president Ajoy Kumar on Thursday joined Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Experts maintain that Ajoy Kumar's decision to leave Congress for Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's AAP is expected to cost the Congress dearly in the upcoming Assembly election in Jharkhand.

Sep 19, 2019, 12:08 PM IST

Kapil Mishra, AAP MLA from Karawal Nagar, disqualified from Delhi Assembly

The order was issued by Delhi Assembly Speaker Ram Niwas Goel, in which he informed that he has disqualified rebel AAP MLA Kapil Mishra under the anti-defection law.

Aug 02, 2019, 19:09 PM IST

AAP appoints Sanjay Singh as party in-charge in Rajasthan

The party took the decision as Rajasthan is important in national politics, the AAP said in a statement.

May 26, 2019, 10:01 AM IST

Alka Lamba again removed from AAP's MLA Whatsapp group

AAP's disgruntled Chandni Chowk MLA Alka Lamba on Saturday claimed that she has been removed again from the party's MLA WhatsApp group which includes party chief Arvind Kejriwal.

May 26, 2019, 00:03 AM IST

AAP welcomes public mandate; congratulates BJP for victory

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had bagged all the seven seats in Delhi in 2014.

May 23, 2019, 13:51 PM IST

Election Commission manipulated polling diaries in South Delhi: AAP

The returning officer of the South Delhi constituency, however, said it is "misinformation" and no officers were called in this regard to the EC office.

May 17, 2019, 20:06 PM IST

AAP's Balbir Jakhar dismisses son's claim that he paid Rs 6 crore to Arvind Kejriwal for ticket

Balbir condemned the allegations, adding that he has never discussed anything about his candidature with his son, Uday.

May 11, 2019, 16:38 PM IST

Why did not PM Narendra Modi fulfil Delhi statehood promise: Arvind Kejriwal

Posing three questions ahead of Modi`s election rally here, the Chief Minister also demanded to know why the Prime Minister was silent during the sealing drive in Delhi because of which traders suffered.

May 08, 2019, 15:14 PM IST

Rebel AAP MLA Devinder Kumar Sehrawat joins BJP

Sehrawat, a retired colonel, had won from Bijwasan Assembly constituency of Delhi in 2015 Assembly election. 

May 06, 2019, 14:10 PM IST

Man who attacked CM Arvind Kejriwal was AAP supporter, says Delhi Police

Refuting the claims made by the Delhi Police, AAP leader Saurabh Bharadwaj said that the man was a `Bhakt` of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

May 05, 2019, 00:38 AM IST

AAP Gandhi Nagar MLA Anil Bajpayi joins BJP

The move comes at a time when AAP leaders, including DelhiCM Arvind Kejriwal, have accused the BJP of indulging in horse-trading.

May 03, 2019, 15:57 PM IST

Delhi statehood solution lies in open doors, not in closing them

Delhi residents deserve an accountable government. The time has come for a serious discussion on the issue.

May 03, 2019, 15:36 PM IST

CPIM extends support to AAP in Delhi, says Congress not a credible challenge

CPIM said that in the last five years of the NDA government, an "unmitigated disaster" had been unleashed in the country.

May 01, 2019, 18:02 PM IST

Gautam Gambhir reverse sweeps AAP's accusation on dual voter IDs

"When you don't have a vision and have done nothing in the last 4.5 years, you make such allegations."

Apr 28, 2019, 11:53 AM IST

Kejriwal releases AAP's Delhi manifesto, vows to secure 'full statehood' for national capital

Kejriwal released the manifesto in presence of senior AAP leaders Manish Sisodia, Gopal Rai and Sanjay Singh. 

Apr 25, 2019, 15:51 PM IST

AAP manifesto focusses on full statehood for Delhi, jobs, education, women safety

The party claimed that its sole objective of fighting the election is to make Delhi a full state.

Apr 25, 2019, 14:56 PM IST

East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency

For the 2019 election, Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir against Atishi Marlena of Aam Aadmi Party and Arvinder Singh Lovely of Congress.

Apr 25, 2019, 11:42 AM IST

AAP & Congress showed no maturity in Delhi, will blame each other for BJP's gains

The triangular contest for Delhi's 7 seats is now clearly in BJP's favour.

Apr 23, 2019, 13:57 PM IST