News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Karnataka bypolls

Assembly bypolls updates: 77.62% polling in bypolls to 4 TN assembly segments

Polling for bypolls in Tamil Nadu, Goa, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Karnataka and Gujarat started at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm. In Tamil Nadu, bypolls are taking place on four seats, Goa one seat, West Bengal five seats, Uttar Pradesh one seat, Bihar one seat and Karnataka two seats.

May 19, 2019, 07:29 AM IST

Karnataka has rejected BJP’s negative politics, says Congress and JDS

Victory of the ruling JD-S-Congress alliance in four of the five by-elections in Karnataka was a rejection of the opposition BJP's negative politics, asserted a Congress leader on Tuesday.

Nov 06, 2018, 20:49 PM IST

Kumaraswamy flays BJP after Karnataka bypolls win, accuses it of poaching Congress-JDS MLAs

Kumaraswamy said that the Congress JDS alliance will now work towards winning all 28 seats in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Nov 06, 2018, 14:37 PM IST

Karnataka bypoll results 2018: Will work with Congress to win all 28 LS seats, says CM Kumaraswamy

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure to that no untoward incident takes place during the counting of votes.

Nov 06, 2018, 08:16 AM IST

Karnataka bypoll results 2018: A litmus test for Congress, JDS and BJP

Counting of votes began at five centres, one each in five constituencies, at 8 am on Tuesday morning. 

Nov 06, 2018, 07:57 AM IST

Congress announces candidates for Karnataka bypolls; VS Ugrappa, Anand Sidha Nyamagouda named

JDS and Congress who are in alliance in Karnataka will be fighting the upcoming bypolls in Karnataka together.

Oct 15, 2018, 16:57 PM IST

Congress hits out at Centre over timing of Karnataka bypolls, says flood-relief work will be hampered

The Election Commission had on Saturday announced that bypolls in three Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka will be held on November 3.

Oct 08, 2018, 15:13 PM IST

Karnataka bypolls: 76 per cent turnout in Nanjanagud; 78 per cent in Gundulpet

An estimated 76 and 78 per cent of voters exercised their franchise in the bypolls to Nanjanagud and Gundlupet Assembly constituencies in Karnataka on Sunday.

Apr 09, 2017, 21:28 PM IST

Boost for BJP, Congress veteran SM Krishna all set to join saffron party ahead of bypolls in Karnataka

Karnataka Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President BS Yeddyurappa has claimed that former Congress leader SM Krishna will join the BJP on March 15.

Mar 14, 2017, 09:54 AM IST

Congress wins two seats, BJP one in Assembly bypolls in Karnataka

In a shot in the arm for the ruling Congress in Karnataka, the party on Monday won two seats, wresting the prestigious Bellary Rural from BJP.

Aug 25, 2014, 12:19 PM IST

Campaigning for by-polls to 3 Assembly seats ends

Campaigning for the August 21 Karnataka Assembly by-polls for three constituencies in which the ruling Congress has invested much prestige after its unimpressive Lok Sabha election performance, ended this evening.

Aug 19, 2014, 17:53 PM IST

K’taka bypolls: BJP`s Kumar up against Cong’s Hegde

BJP has fielded V Sunil Kumar as its candidate against Jay Prakash Hegde of the Congress for the Uduppi-Chikmaglur bypolls.

Feb 21, 2012, 20:39 PM IST

JD-S for defeat of CM in bypolls: Siddaramaiah

Cong leader Siddaramaiah said JD-S and BJP rebel leaders have assured support to the party to defeat CM DV Sadnanada Gowda in Dec 22 bye-election.

Dec 11, 2011, 23:23 PM IST

BJP, JD-S win Karnataka bypolls, Congress loses again

The BJP and opposition Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) bagged one seat each in two Karnataka bypolls.

Sep 16, 2010, 13:22 PM IST