Maharashtra assembly election winners

BJP and Shiv Sena meet Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari separately, extend Diwali greetings

The first to call on the Governor was Shiv Sena`s Transport Minister in the outgoing cabinet Diwakar Raote. After the meeting, he said, "I come to meet the Governor every year on the occasion of Diwali. It has been my tradition for the past over five decades." He added, "There was no discussion on our politics," he added and requested that "no political motives should be attributed to the courtesy call" on the Governor.

Oct 28, 2019, 11:34 AM IST

BJP and Shiv Sena to separately meet Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari on Monday

The Shiv Sena is likely to inform the Governor about their stand and urge not to take the pre-poll alliance seriously while inviting the largest single party BJP  in next govt formation as the Shiv Sena is looking for 50-50 sharing formula.

Oct 28, 2019, 10:57 AM IST

Amid tussle with BJP on government formation in Maharashtra, Shiv Sena demands written assurance on 50:50 formula

"In our meeting, it was decided that like Amit Shah had promised 50:50 formula before Lok Sabha polls, similarly both allies should get chance to run the government for 2.5-2.5 years. So Shiv Sena should also have CM. Uddhav Thackeray should get this assurance in writing from BJP," Shiv Sena leader Pratap Sarnaik said.

Oct 26, 2019, 14:48 PM IST

Maharashtra: Uddhav Thackeray calls meeting with Shiv Sena leaders on government formation, BJP to discuss about 50-50 formula

It is not possible for the BJP to form a government in Maharashtra only without the help of Shiv Sena. In the 288-member Assembly, a total of 105 BJP MLAs have won the election while Shiv Sena won 56 seats. BJP is not even close to the halfway-mark to claim majority to form a government on its own. 

Oct 26, 2019, 11:04 AM IST

'Young soch wins': Posters celebrating Aditya Thackeray's electoral victory take over Mumbai

Aditya Thackeray emerged out victorious from Worli Assembly constituency after defeating NCP candidate Suresh Mane by a margin of over 67,000 votes. He is the first member of the family in Shiv Sena's history to contest the election.

Oct 26, 2019, 07:10 AM IST

Shiv Sena will form govt with BJP in Maharashtra only after it agrees on 50-50 formula: Uddhav Thackeray

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray has placed a condition before the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) before forming a government together in Maharashtra. Thackeray has bluntly told the BJP that the party should first agree on the 50-50 formula and only after that the Shiv Sena will decide to form a government with the BJP.

Oct 25, 2019, 21:20 PM IST

Final seat tally of parties in Haryana, Maharashtra Assembly elections

It wasn't an easy race for the BJP in Haryana, where the party failed to cross the halfway-mark to claim a majority in the 90-member Assembly. Meanwhile, in Maharashtra, the BJP had joined hands with Shiv Sena ahead of the election and therefore, a coalition government will be formed. 

Oct 25, 2019, 13:34 PM IST

Posters depicting Aditya Thackeray as Maharashtra CM surface in Mumbai's Worli

Aditya Thackeray is the first member of the family in the party's history to contest elections. He emerged out victorious from Worli Assembly constituency after defeating NCP candidate Suresh Mane by a margin of over 70,000 votes.

Oct 25, 2019, 12:29 PM IST

Shiv Sena takes tough stand after Maharashtra Assembly election result, tells BJP will form govt on 50-50 formula

The Sena chief further added that discussions should be held and then it should be decided that who would become the chief minister of Maharashtra. He also thanked the people of Maharashtra for their support.

Oct 24, 2019, 17:18 PM IST

Independents, smaller parties put up a good show in Maharashtra Assembly election 2019

Though the final results will take several hours more to get a clear picture, the ubiquitous independent candidates and smaller political outfits appeared to have put up a surprising performance in the Maharashtra assembly elections.

Oct 24, 2019, 14:45 PM IST

Maharashtra Assembly Election Results 2019: Look at the complete list of Shiv Sena winners

The main contest in the state is between BJP-Shiv Sena alliance called the 'Mahayuti' and the Congress-NCP alliance named 'Maha-aghadi' (front) for 288 Assembly seats. 

Oct 24, 2019, 13:31 PM IST

Maharashtra Assembly election 2019 winners list

The counting of votes for 228 Assembly seats in Maharashtra has begun at 269 locations on Thursday, October 24. The fate of 3,237 candidates, including 235 women, are in the fray this time. 

Oct 24, 2019, 09:35 AM IST

Maharashtra Assembly election 2019 results: BJP-Shiv Sena alliance heads towards majority

Prominent leaders like BJP`s Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil in Shirdi, Nitesh Rane in Kankavali, Mohini Eknath Khadse in Muktainagar and Shiv Sena`s Aditya Thackeray in Worli are leading. 

Oct 24, 2019, 09:19 AM IST

Maharashtra Assembly election results 2019 Live Streaming on Zee News: Catch the latest counting trends

The fate of 3,237 candidates in the fray from Maharashtra will be known when the result of 2019 Assembly elections in the state is declared on Thursday, October 24. The counting of votes will begin at 8 am and is likely to continue till afternoon. 

Oct 24, 2019, 07:46 AM IST

Maharashtra Assembly election 2019 results live updates: Shiv Sena will not back down from 50-50 formula, will form govt with BJP, says Uddhav Thackeray

Maharashtra Assembly election 2019 results live updates and winners: The BJP has fielded its candidates in 164 Assembly seats, including the candidates of smaller allies who are contesting on BJP's lotus symbol. The Shiv Sena has fielded its candidates in 124 seats. 

Oct 24, 2019, 07:30 AM IST

Counting of votes in Maharashtra Assembly election to begin soon

The counting of votes in the Maharashtra Assembly election will begin at 8 am on Thursday. The voting for the 288-member Maharashtra assembly was held in a single-phase on October 21. A total of 3,237 candidates, including 235 women, are in the fray this time.

Oct 24, 2019, 06:06 AM IST

Maharashtra awaits Assembly election results; BJP-Shiv Sena upbeat, Congress-NCP hope for revival

In 2014 Assembly election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) finished on top with 122 seats in its kitty, while its coalition partner Shiv Sena managed to win 63 seats.

Oct 23, 2019, 20:19 PM IST