Maharashtra government formation

Ajit told me he had Sharad Pawar's support to form govt in Maharashtra, says Devendra Fadnavis

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister and BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis on Saturday said that NCP leader Ajit Pawar had told him that he had the full support of NCP chief and uncle Sharad Pawar to form the government in Maharashtra, which is why they staked the claim to form the government in the state.

Dec 07, 2019, 18:58 PM IST

Maharashtra Assembly Speaker election today; Congress' Nana Patole to contest against BJP's Kisan Kathore

The election to the post of Assembly Speaker will be held on Sunday, a day after the Maha Vikas Aghadi government led by Uddhav Thackeray cleared the floor test with 169 votes.

Dec 01, 2019, 07:54 AM IST

Maharashtra: Uddhav Thackery-led Maha Vikas Aghadi govt passes floor test, gets 169 votes in favour

The Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government (Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance) won the floor test in Maharashtra Assembly on Saturday. The Maha Vikas Aghadi secured 169 votes in the trust vote motion, thus proving majority. 

Nov 30, 2019, 15:06 PM IST

Dozen incidents of chain theft, pickpocketing reported from Uddhav Thackeray's swearing-in ceremony

According to police, as many as 14 people have filed complaints of chain and cash theft at Shivaji Park Police Station.

Nov 30, 2019, 11:54 AM IST

Alliance will prove its majority today: Ajit Pawar

Two days after being sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Uddhav Thackeray led government will face a trust vote in Maharashtra Assembly on Saturday.

Nov 30, 2019, 11:43 AM IST

Maharashtra govt live updates: NCP MLA Dilip Walse Patil appointed as pro-tem Speaker

Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray was sworn-in as the 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra on Thursday evening, bringing an end to weeks of political instability and stunning turnarounds in the state's politics.

Nov 29, 2019, 09:05 AM IST

Fadnavis wouldn't have resigned if he got more time to prove majority: Ramdas Athawale

Republican Party of India (RPI) chief Ramdas Athawale on Thursday said that Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar would not have resigned as chief minister and deputy chief minister had the BJP got more time for the floor test.

Nov 28, 2019, 15:02 PM IST

Shiv Sena insulted people's mandate in Maharashtra, not BJP: Amit Shah

Union Home Minister and BJP chief Amit Shah on Wednesday lashed out at the Shiv Sena and accused its president Uddhav Thackeray of betraying the mandate given by the people of Maharashtra after the assembly election.

Nov 27, 2019, 17:14 PM IST

Will invite PM Narendra Modi, Amit Shah for Uddhav Thackeray's swearing-in ceremony: Sanjay Raut

Thackeray will be sworn-in as Chief Minister on December 1 in the evening at 5 pm, at a mega-function planned in Shivaji Park, it was announced by a spokesperson.

Nov 26, 2019, 21:12 PM IST

Power of Constitution forced Devendra Fadnavis, Ajit Pawar to resign: Mamata Banerjee

The Bengal CM acccused the BJP government of violating the principles of Constitution in an order to form a government in midnight in Maharashtra.

Nov 26, 2019, 20:40 PM IST

Maharashtra Pro-tem Speaker Kalidas Kolambkar to administer oath to 288 MLAs on Wednesday

Kolambkar was appointed as the Pro-tem Speaker by Governor Koshyari on the directions of the apex court which ordered a floor test on Wednesday. 

Nov 26, 2019, 20:07 PM IST

BJP doesn't have numbers to form govt, says Devendra Fadnavis; key point from his press conference

Devendra Fadnavis will tender his resignation to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari today evening. 

Nov 26, 2019, 15:57 PM IST

All you need to know about Pro-tem Speaker

Pro-Tem speaker is chosen for the conduct of the House when the Lok Sabha and legislative assemblies have been elected and the vote for the speaker and Deputy Speaker has not taken place.

Nov 26, 2019, 14:21 PM IST

Maharashtra floor test: Kalidas Kolambkar, Babanrao Pachpute, Balasaheb Thorat - Who will be pro-tem speaker?

As per the conventions, the seniormost MLA is usually appointed the pro-tem speaker. In the current Assembly, state Congress president Balasaheb Thorat is the seniormost MLA with eight terms behind him, but BJP's Babanrao Pachpute and Kalidas Kolambkar can also be in line. While other senior leaders who are likely to in the fray are - Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil (BJP), KC Padvi and Dilip Walse-Patil (Congress). 

Nov 26, 2019, 13:34 PM IST

Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis should resign before floor test: Congress' Prithviraj Chavan after SC decision

Supreme Court on Tuesday ordered Maharashtra floor test on November 27. The order comes on a joint petition filed by Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP against the decision of Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari to invite the BJP to form a government in the state. 

Nov 26, 2019, 11:23 AM IST

Maharashtra floor test on November 27 by open ballot; live telecast of proceedings

The Supreme Court (SC) on Tuesday ordered the Maharashtra floor test on November 27 (Wednesday) before 5 pm. The order comes on a joint petition filed by Shiv Sena, Congress and Nationalist Congress Party against the decision of Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari to invite the Bharatiya Janata Party to form a government in the state. 

Nov 26, 2019, 10:49 AM IST

Ahead of Supreme Court verdict on Maharashtra floor test, Deputy CM Ajit Pawar, BJP's Bhupendra Yadav spotted at same hotel

The development took place just a few hours before the Supreme Court will announce its decision on a petition challenging the government formation by the BJP in Maharashtra. The newly-formed alliance between the Congress, Shiv Sena and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had submitted the joint petition before the SC against the decision of Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari to invite the BJP to form government in the state. 

Nov 26, 2019, 09:36 AM IST

Live: Uddhav Thackeray will now to take oath as CM on November 28 at Shivaji Park

Terming the Supreme Court's order for floor test in Maharashtra, as a slap on the BJP-Ajit Pawar alliance, the Congress spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala accused the two of "hijacking the mandate".

Nov 26, 2019, 08:54 AM IST

Amid political turmoil in Maharashtra, SC to decide on floor test on Tuesday

On Monday, the SC reserved the order after a bench of Justices NV Ramana, Ashok Bhushan, and Sanjiv Khanna heard the arguments put forth by counsels appearing for Governor, Maharashtra BJP and other parties. 

Nov 26, 2019, 06:51 AM IST

Maharashtra drama continues, 162 Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress MLAs come together; Uddhav says fight is for 'Satyameva Jayate'

In a media spectacle at Mumbai's Grand Hyatt hotel, the MLAs took the oath in the presence of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar and senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge. 

Nov 25, 2019, 23:43 PM IST