Jharkhand assembly election winners

'Jinx' on Jharkhand CM's post remains unbroken in 2019 too

Outgoing Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das has earned the distinction of becoming the first Chief Minister of the tribal state, carved out of Bihar in 2000, to complete a full term in power, but in 2019, anti-incumbency, rural distress, resentment over lack of jobs and even a divide within over the choice of poll candidates cost him dear.

Dec 24, 2019, 10:54 AM IST

Sonia Gandhi calls JMM-Congress-RJD alliance win in Jharkhand 'special', PM Narendra Modi thanks voters

Thanking the people of Jharkhand for voting in favour of the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance, Sonia Gandhi said that the people of Jharkhand have rejected the divisive agenda of BJP. 

Dec 24, 2019, 06:35 AM IST

I will work like son of the soil not as Chief Minister of Jharkhand: Hemant Soren

The JMM leader said the "BJP is also a political party, the difference between us is that they are on a national level while we are a regional political party." He added: "the formula of politics is more or less the same as far as elections are concerned."

Dec 23, 2019, 22:45 PM IST

Hemant Soren powers JMM-Congress-RJD to big win in Jharkhand, gives hope to opposition against BJP

Apart from powering his alliance, Hemant Soren also emerged as the winner from both Dumka and Barhait constituencies. Soren won by a margin of 13,188 votes from Dumka and secured Barhait assembly constituency by a margin of 25,740 votes.

Dec 23, 2019, 22:39 PM IST

Mahagathbandhan leaders will meet and decide future course of action: Hemant Soren

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) chief Hemant Soren said the party's win in Jharkhand is the victory of grand alliance (Mahagathbandhan), and thanked the people of the state, while addressing a press conference here on Monday (December 23). 

Dec 23, 2019, 17:49 PM IST

Jharkhand poll trends set Twitter abuzz

#JharkhandElectionResults trended on Twitter with 12.2K tweets whereas #JharkhandassemblyPolls got 28.1K tweets. According to the Election Commission, the BJP led on 28 seats while the Grand Alliance comprising the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, the Congress, and the Rashtriya Janata Dal led on 41 of the total 81 seats.

Dec 23, 2019, 14:18 PM IST

Congress-JMM supporters celebrate early lead of the alliance in Jharkhand

Congress-JMM supporters are confident of Hemant Soren to b the next chief minister of Jharkhand. According to Election Commission data, available at 12:15 am, Congress-JMM alliance is leading on 37 seats in the state.

Dec 23, 2019, 12:21 PM IST

JMM-Congress-RJD alliance leads in Jharkhand, talks with Babulal Marandi's JVM

The Congress has spoken to former ally Babulal Marandi whose party JVM is leading on at least 4 seats. However, JVM has not given any assurance to the Congress leaders so far, but have said that the party will hold talks only after the final results are out.

Dec 23, 2019, 12:08 PM IST

Jharkhand slipping out of BJP's hand, party's presence shrinks on India's map

The trends at 11:45 PM shows that the BJP is leading on 29 seats, while the Congress-Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-Rashtriya Janata Dal alliance is ahead in 40 seats. BJP's estranged ally All Jharkhand Students Union is leading on four seats and Jharkhand Vikas Moracha of Babulal Marandi has grabbed lead on four seats. 

Dec 23, 2019, 12:08 PM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election result 2019: BJP may join hands with Babulal Marandi's JVM

With 42 being the magic figure, it will not only need its former ally AJSU but Babulal Marandi's party as well. While the BJP is confident of striking a "deal" with AJSU, it is not as sure about the JVM. This is the reason, a premature overture is made towards the JVM.

Dec 23, 2019, 11:53 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election result 2019: Congress-JMM alliance likely to form government

According to trends, the BJP is leading on 27 and the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is ahead in 43 seats. The AJSU and the JVM are leading on three and four seats respectively.

Dec 23, 2019, 11:37 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election result 2019: Raghubar Das bites the dust, BJP routed

Five years of stable government by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to impress the voters as the party was routed in Jharkhand Assembly election 2019 whose result was declared on Monday. Even chief minister Raghubar Das, accused of sidelining other leaders, taking unilateral decision which were against the people and failing to ensure unity in the rank and file, failed tp hold on to his Jamshedpur East Assembly constituency which he had been winning since 1995 when Jharkhand was part of Bihar.

Dec 23, 2019, 11:03 AM IST

Jharkhand results: JMM's Hemant Soren leading from Barhait, trailing from Dumka

Hemant Soren is trailing from Dumka seat with BJP`s Louis Marandi leading there by 6329 votes. The counting of votes for 81 Jharkhand Assembly seats began at 8 am on Monday in all the 24 district headquarters amid tight security.

Dec 23, 2019, 10:54 AM IST

Jharkhand BJP in-charge confident of winning 50 seats

The counting of votes for 81 Assembly constituencies is taking place in Jharkhand and the final result is expected to be announced later in the day. The supporters of the opposition alliance in the state seem to be encouraged by exits polls that have predicted a marginal advantage to the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-led alliance and have pointed towards a hung Assembly.

Dec 23, 2019, 10:44 AM IST

JVM, AJSU may be kingmaker if Jharkhand Assembly election throws up hung house

As per initial trends, the BJP is leading on 30 and Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is in 41 seats. The AJSU and the JVM are leading on five and four seats respectively.

Dec 23, 2019, 10:36 AM IST

Jharkhand Assembly election 2019: List of other winners

The Congress-JMM-RJD won an absolute majority by winning 47 seats in 81-member Jharkhand Assembly, the results of which were declared on Monday. JMM won 30 seats, Congress 16, RJD one, BJP 25, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) three, AJSU two, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) one, NCP one and independents two.

Dec 23, 2019, 09:59 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) winners

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) contested the election in an alliance with the JMM and Congress. Jharkhand witnessed a keen battle between two national parties, the BJP and the Congress contesting with regional parties like AJSU Party, JMM, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) and RJD. The JMM contested in 43 seats, Congress in 31 and the third partner in the alliance RJD fielded its candidates on seven seats.


Dec 23, 2019, 09:41 AM IST

Jharkhand assembly election 2019: BJP reaches out to Sudesh Mahto's AJSU

With the trends of Jharkhand assembly election result showing that the state is heading towards a hung assembly, sources said that senior BJP leader are in touch with All Jharkhand Students Union chief Sudesh Mahto. As per the trends, AJSU is curently leading on eight seats, while the BJP is leading on 35 seats. The magic mark in Jharkhand is 41 seats and if BJP joins hands with AJSU then the alliance could form the next government.

Dec 23, 2019, 09:37 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) winners

In 2014, the BJP and AJSU alliance fetched 42 seats - (37 and 5, respectively) - but the Sudesh Mahto-led AJSU decided to jump into the battleground alone.

Dec 23, 2019, 09:27 AM IST

Jharkhand election result 2019: List of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) winners

Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das is up against Hemant Soren of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), whose party is fighting the election in alliance with the Congress and RJD. Soren is the alliance's CM face. While Das contested from Jamshedpur (East), BJP state unit president Lakshman Gilua fought the election from Chakradharpur. 

Dec 23, 2019, 09:19 AM IST