DMK chief Stalin appointed as Tamil Nadu CM, swearing-in ceremony on May 7

Stalin, along with party veteran and general secretary Duraimurugan called on Purohit at the Raj Bhavan and submitted a letter on his election as leader of the DMK legislature party and staked claim to form the government. DMK treasurer T R Baalu, principal secretary K N Nehru and organisation secretary R S Bharathi also accompanied Stalin, who was elected leader of the legislature party.

May 05, 2021, 23:01 PM IST

DMK chief MK Stalin calls on Tamil Nadu Governor, stakes claim to form government

The DMK chief is set to assume office as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister on May 7 and he would be sworn in as CM in a simple function to be held at the Raj Bhavan.

May 05, 2021, 13:00 PM IST

Tamil Nadu: MK Stalin unanimously elected as DMK’s legislature party leader

Stalin, the son of late DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi will meet Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit at the Raj Bhavan and stake claim to form the next government.

May 04, 2021, 21:11 PM IST

Amma canteen vandalised in Chennai, DMK owns fault after AIADMK shares footage

The Amma canteens were launched by the ousted AIADMK government which provided subsidised meals for the poor. The canteen sells Idlis for Rs 1 and a plate of Sambhar Rice at Rs 5.

May 04, 2021, 15:37 PM IST

Arvind Kejriwal congratulates MK Stalin for 'resounding victory' in Tamil Nadu

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal wished MK Stalin a successful tenure and the very best in fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Tamil Nadu.

May 02, 2021, 15:19 PM IST

Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021 Result: Trends show DMK leading postal ballots

Counting of votes polled in the Tamil Nadu Assembly election held on April 6 commenced on Sunday across the State amid tight security and in tune with fresh COVID-19 guidelines.

May 02, 2021, 11:12 AM IST

Exit polls unreliable, misleading, says former Puducherry CM V Narayanasamy

Former Chief Minister V Narayanasamy said the exit polls were by and large unreliable and misleading. 

May 01, 2021, 11:36 AM IST

Assembly Elections Exit Poll 2021: Accurate Estimates of Election Results for 5 states

The Tamil Nadu assembly elections were held in a single phase on April 06 for 234 assembly seats in the state. The DMK-led coalition in the state is projected to win 160-170 out of 234 seats in Tamil Nadu.

Apr 29, 2021, 21:36 PM IST

Assembly Election Exit Poll 2021: According to Republic-CNX, DMK+ is set to win in Tamil Nadu

The Tamil Nadu assembly elections were held in a single phase on April 06 for 234 assembly seats in the state. The DMK-led coalition in the state is projected to win 160-170 out of 234 seats in Tamil Nadu.

Apr 29, 2021, 20:34 PM IST

EC notice to DMK leader A Raja for derogatory remarks against Tamil Nadu CM Palaniswami’s mother

The Election Commission has issued a show-cause notice to DMK leader A Raja for allegedly making derogatory remarks against Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and his mother during an election campaign.

Mar 31, 2021, 08:15 AM IST

Tamil Nadu polls 2021: AIADMK candidates ‘ISI certified’, DMK nominees are ‘duplicates', says CM Edappadi K Palaniswami

Tamil Nadu CM Edappadi K Palaniswami said, "Our AIADMK candidates are ISI certified but their candidates (DMK) are duplicate. Voters should not believe in duplicate." 

Mar 24, 2021, 15:51 PM IST

Unaccounted cash of Rs 3.21 crore seized in Tamil Nadu's Srivilliputhur constituency

Elections to the 234-member Tamil Nadu assembly will be held on April 6 and the counting of votes will take place on May 2.

Mar 18, 2021, 06:42 AM IST

Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021: MK Stalin promises to resolve over 17 lakh petitions within 100 days if DMK voted to power

Stalin expressed confidence that the DMK will win the upcoming assembly elections in Tamil Nadu and said that we will surely come to power on May 2 and will solve all petitions received within 100 days. 

Mar 16, 2021, 10:03 AM IST

Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021: Murugan lashed out at DMK over its promise of abolishing NEET, says they always lie

As part of its manifesto for the Tamil Nadu elections, the DMK has said that it will bring a law to abolish the NEET if it is voted to power.

Mar 16, 2021, 09:49 AM IST

Tamil Nadu Assembly Polls: DMK announce candidates for 173 seats, MK Stalin to fight from Kolathur

The DMK hopes to stage a comeback in the polls after a ten-year stint in opposition. Nearly half of the 173 nominees are sitting MLAs and the DMK would be locked in direct contest with arch-rival AIADMK in over 100 seats.

Mar 12, 2021, 22:27 PM IST

DMK seals seat-sharing deal with allies for upcoming Tamil Nadu assembly election 2021

Ahead of the assembly polls in Tamil Nadu, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has finalised seat sharing deal with its allies. The DMK will be fighting the upcoming state assembly elections with Congress, CPI, CPI (M), MDMK, VCK, IUML and MMK.

Mar 08, 2021, 12:38 PM IST

VK Sasikala returns into mainstream politics, says 'will dedicate rest of my life for AIADMK'

Sasikala, the close confidante of late chief minister J Jayalalithaa, is on her way to Chennai after completing her four-year sentence in a corruption case. Her return to the state’s political arena gains significance as it occurs barely two months ahead of the crucial Assembly polls.

Feb 08, 2021, 21:37 PM IST

AIADMK's K Arulanandam expelled from party after CBI arrest in Pollachi sexual harassment case

 An AIADMK functionary was among the three men arrested by the CBI on Wednesday (January 6) in connection with the sensational 2019 sexual harassment case in nearby Pollachi, taking the total number of persons held so far to eight.

Jan 06, 2021, 16:53 PM IST

Union Home Minister Amit Shah slams Congress and DMK, says 'Narendra Modi govt has given Tamil Nadu its due rights'

"I want to ask the DMK and Congress party what good has the UPA govt done for Tamil Nadu during their 10-year long rule at the centre," said Amit Shah.

Nov 21, 2020, 22:29 PM IST

Former DMK MP KP Ramalingam joins BJP

 KP Ramalingam joined BJP at Chennai.

Nov 21, 2020, 17:12 PM IST