This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

AP bypolls: 10 candidates file nominations

Last Updated: Friday, February 24, 2012 - 23:52

Hyderabad: Ten candidates filed their
nominations on Friday for the March 18 bypolls to seven Assembly
constituencies in Andhra Pradesh.

The segments where bypolls will be held are Adilabad,
Nagarkurnool, Kollapur, Station Ghanpur, Kovur, Kamareddy and

TDP`s C Jagadiswara Rao and Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy
submitted their nominations for Kollapur and Kovur seats
respectively, an official release said here.

Congress candidates Raja Reddy Adla, S Prakash, K Damodar
Reddy filed their papers for Kamareddy, Mahabubnagar and
Nagarkurnool respectively.

Jupally Krishna Rao of TRS filed the papers for Kollapur.
Other nominations were filed by Independents. The last date
for filing nominations is February 29.

The by-elections are necessitated in Adilabad,
Nagarkurnool, Kollapur, Station Ghanpur and Kamareddy due to
the resignation of sitting members in support of separate
Telangana statehood demand. The sitting MLA died in

The sitting TDP MLA of Kovur quit in support of Kadapa
MP YS Jagan Mohan Reddy which caused the bypoll.


First Published: Friday, February 24, 2012 - 23:52
comments powered by Disqus