Polling underway in Rajahmundry bypoll

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 12, 2012 - 08:55

Rajahmundry: All arrangements are in place and voting in the byelections to Ramachandrapuram (SC) constituency in the state is underway.

Over 1.78 lakh voters would exercise their franchise in the by-elections and 205 polling stations have been set up in the Assembly segment which consists of three mandals - Ramachandrapuram, Kajulur and Pamarru, East Godavari District Collector Neetu Prasad said.

The entire constituency is divided into 21 zones and 1,081 persons have been roped in as polling personnel. Besides, 2,027 police officials are being deployed on election duty.

Prasad said 1,78,484 of voters will exercise their franchise in the by-elections, out of which 90,098 are men and 88,386 women voters.

"We have conducted classes for the polling persons, EVMs are kept ready and random checking of EVMs by political parties also completely successful," she added.

The police and excise officials are seizing huge amount of money and liquor by setting up of pickets and check post at vulnerable points, she said.

The web casting was set up in all polling stations in the constituency to maintain transparency in polling.

Polling commenced at 0800 hrs and will end at 1700 hrs.

District Superintendent of Police Dr CM Trivikram Varma said the district administration has identified 44 polling stations as super-sensitive and 40 sensitive stations and steps have been taken for peaceful polling in these stations.

Varma said 1,118 civil police personnel services will be utilised in the by-elections. Patrolling has been intensified in the constituency and trouble-makers have been taken into custody, he added.


First Published: Monday, June 11, 2012 - 13:26

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus