SAD councillors decide to quit after spar with BJP
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, April 13, 2011, 21:16
New Delhi: All five councillors of Shiromani Akali Dal on Wednesday decided to resign from BJP-ruled MCD as major differences cropped up between the two allies over finalising the candidates for coming Mayor and Deputy Mayor's election.

The councillors are Jathedar Avtar Singh Hit, S Manjinder Singh Sirsa, Mandeep Kaur Bakshi, Jatinder Singh Shunty and Captain Inderpreet Singh. The SAD complained that the BJP took a final decision on candidates for the two posts as well as for three vacant positions in the MCD Standing Committee without consulting it.

Delhi BJP chief Vijender Gupta, however, expressed confidence that the differences will be resolved soon. "We are working it out and the matter will be resolved," he said.

"To my surprise none from the alliance partner BJP took the initiative to mutually discuss (the matter) with me or my party High Command before announcing your final decision," SAD Delhi state chief Manjit Singh GK said in a letter to Gupta, to which he has also attached the resignation letter of the five members addressed to the Municipal Secretary.

"Your final decision came to my notice through various media and unofficial sources. By this action, BJP have broken the trust and sanctity of the alliance. In an urgent party meeting held today, it has been decided that our councillors will resign from the corporation under protest," he said.

Councillor Avtar Singh Hit said the BJP has not adjusted any of the SAD members in any vacant posts. He, however, added that further discussions are being held on the issue.


First Published: Wednesday, April 13, 2011, 21:16

comments powered by Disqus