This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

27 candidates in fray in Baramulla, Ladakh seats

PTI | Last Updated: Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 21:21

Srinagar: As many as 27 candidates have entered the fray from Baramulla and Ladakh parliamentary constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir as nominations ended today for the May 7 poll.

While 18 candidates have filed their papers for the Baramulla Lok Sabha seat during the stipulated time for filling nomination papers, nine contestants have entered into the fray from Ladakh parliamentary constituency, an official spokesman said.

The Election Commission has issued the notification for the two constituencies on April 12. The scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on April 21, while date for withdrawal of nominations has been fixed April 23.

Prominent among those who have filed their nomination papers from Baramulla parliamentary constituency included senior National Conference leader and sitting MP Sharif-ud-din Shariq, former Deputy Chief Minister and PDP candidate Muzaffar Hussain Baig and independent MLA and president of Awami Itehad Party Sheikh Abdul Rashid.

Ghulam Mohammad Mir of BJP, Syed Mohammad Rafiq Shah of National Panthers Party, Mohd Shafi Bhat of Bahujan Samaj Party, Salam ud din Bajad and Khursheed Ahmad Khan of Peoples Conference are the other prominent candidates who have filed their nomination papers from the constituency, the spokesman said.

Prominent among those who filed their papers for Ladakh parliamentary constituency included joint candidate of ruling National Conference and Congress Tsering Samphel, and BJP`s Thusptan Chewang and Tsering Dorjey as overing candidate.

Several independents are also in the fray including Syed Mohammad Kazim who enjoys the backing of the religious schools of Kargil.

First Published: Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 21:21

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus