Timings for Lok Sabha voting - 7 am to 6 pm

Last Updated: Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 15:25

New Delhi: In order to ensure maximum voting in the Lok Sabha election beginning Monday, polling will be held for the first time from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.

The only exception will be the north-eastern region where polling will start at 7 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. However, Manipur and Nagaland will vote from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. due to security reasons.
The Election Commission has also decided to hold voting in four Maoist affected constituencies in Jharkhand (Rajmahal, Dumka, Godda and Dhanbad) from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.
The nine-phase Lok Sabha election begins Monday and will end May 12. The vote count will take place May 16.

First Published: Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 15:25
comments powered by Disqus