MCD bypolls results: All 13 wards declared - AAP gets 5, Congress wins 4, BJP bags 3 seats; Independent secures 1

MCD bypolls results declared for all the 13 seats.

MCD bypolls results: All 13 wards declared - AAP gets 5, Congress wins 4, BJP bags 3 seats; Independent secures 1

New Delhi: The results of MCD bypolls are out.

Here are all the LIVE updates:-

- Results declared for all the 13 seats: AAP gets 5, Congress wins 4, BJP bags 3 seats; Independent secures 1 seat

Ballimaran ward: AAP wins

Quamruddin Nagar ward: Congress candidates Ashok Bhardwaj wins

- Khichripur ward: Congress candidate Anand Kumar wins 

Nanakpura ward: AAP candidate Anil Malik wins

Vikas Nagar ward: AAP candidate wins 

- Matiala ward: AAP candidate wins 

Munirka ward: Congress wins seat

- Tehkhand ward: AAP's Abhishek Bidhuri wins 

- Bhati ward: Independent candidate wins 

- Wazirpur ward: BJP''s Mahendra Nagpal wins

Jhilmil ward: - Congress candidate Pankaj wins

- Shalimar Bagh North ward: BJP's Bhupinder Mohan Bhandari wins

- Nawada ward : BJP's Krishan Gehlot wins

- The counting began at 8 AM at all the counting centres and Delhi State Election Commission has made necessary arrangements for it.

- The 13 wards which went to the bypolls are Quamruddin Nagar, Shalimar Bagh (North), Ballimaran, Nawada, Vikas Nagar, Matiala, Nanakpura, Munirka, Bhati, Tehkhand, Khichripur, Jhilmil and Wazirpur.

- The MCD which was trifurcated in 2012, has been BJP-ruled for the last 10 years.

- AAP, making its debut in the civic bypolls is hoping to replicate its Assembly polls magic that will set its ground for the 2017 MCD elections.

- The by-elections have been necessitated due to 13 councillors getting elected to Delhi Assembly in 2013 and 2015.

- 45.9 per cent of the 6,68,870 eligible voters exercised their franchise in the high-stake bypolls for the wards falling under three corporations - SDMC (7), NDMC (4) and EDMC (2), being billed as a litmus test for popularity of the AAP government.

- Both BJP and Congress have exuded confidence of impressive performance at the civic hustings.

- The Bhati ward had recorded the highest voting percentage of 64.36, while Matiala registered the lowest of 33 per cent, an election commission official said

- Delhi BJP President Satish Upadhyay had claimed that "based on grass-roots feedback, BJP is likely to be the top performer in today's civic by-polls."

- Delhi Congress president Ajay Maken said "the enthusiastic manner in which the people of Delhi came out to vote clearly showed that they were unhappy with the AAP government and the BJP-ruled MCD."

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link