Jharkhand: JVM leaders block goods train movement

Movement of goods trains on Howrah-Mumbai route were affected after Jharkhand Vikas Morcha resorted to a 12-hour economic blockade.

Jamshedpur: Movement of goods trains on
Howrah-Mumbai route were affected after Jharkhand Vikas Morcha
(Prajatantrik) (JVM) on Sunday resorted to a 12-hour economic
blockade to mount pressure on the government and railways to
resume running of passengers trains during night.

The railways have banned the running of passenger
trains during night hours (11 pm to 5 am) between
Kharagpur-Tatanagar-Rourkela stations ever since the
Jnaneshwari Express mishap, which claimed about 150 passengers
near Jhargram in West Bengal on May 28 last year.

Hundreds of JVM activists led by their senior leaders
have been squatting on tracks across mineral-rich Kolhan
region comprising East and West Singhbhum and
Saraikela-Kharswan district since morning to prevent movement
of goods trains.

Railway sources said Howrah-Ahmedabad Express and
Tata-Chakradharpur passenger trains were detained at
Rajkharswan station and Chakradharpur stations respectively
for sometime due to the agitation.

A goods train was also blocked by JVM activists at
Tatanagar station while the blockade supporters did not allow
goods trains to pass through Chakulia station, former
Jharkhand Health Minister Dr Dinesh Sarangi, who himself was
squatting at Chakulia, said.

While Abhay Singh, secretary of JVM central committee,
was leading the agitation at Tatanagar station, Deputy leader
of the party in the state Assembly Arvind Kumar Singh squatted
at Adityapur station under Chakradharpur division of South
Eastern Railway, party sources said.

"The motive behind the agitation was to draw the
attention of the union and state governments as well as
railways towards the difficulties being faced by the common
people due to banning on movement of passenger trains during
nights for the last 15 months," Abhay Singh said.

JVM workers have been protesting at Tatanagar, Goilkera,
Chakradharpur, Manoharpur and Rajkharswan stations under
Chakradharpur division of S-E Rly while Ghatsila, Dalbhumgarh
and Chakulia station under Kharagpur division.

Meanwhile, Railways have made elaborate security
arrangements to meet any eventuality during the blockade even
though JVM has assured that they would not disrupt movement of
passengers trains.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link