This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Cong continues winning streak in K’taka, wins 2 council seats

Last Updated: Monday, August 26, 2013 - 20:42

Bangalore: Continuing its winning streak, the ruling Congress in Karnataka on Monday bagged two Legislative Council seats, blanking the BJP-KJP combine backed by the JDS.

BJP also faced embarrassment as former Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar`s brother, Pradeep Shettar also lost in the August 22 bypoll to three Legislative Council seats from local authorities constituencies, the counting for which was taken up today.

The third seat went to an independent.

Last week, the Congress wrested Mandya and Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha seats from the JDS in the August 21 bypoll.

In the by-elections to the council, BJP as part of a poll pact had fielded two candidates, leaving one to the KJP of former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, while the JDS had extended its support to these three candidates.

In Mysore-Chamarajanagar, R Dharmasena (3779 votes) won, defeating KJP`s U S Shekar (2611) by 1,168 votes.

Nagaraj Chabbi (3493) of the Congress managed to win in Dharwad-Haveri-Gadag, defeating Pradeep Shettar (3450) by 43 votes.

Independent Raghu Achar won in Chitradurga-Davangere with a margin of 223 votes. He polled 1917 votes as against 1694 by his nearest rival K S Naveen of BJP. M A Sethuram of the Congress finished third with 1361 votes.


First Published: Monday, August 26, 2013 - 20:41

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus